SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Rugby Logo

@lantic 7’s moves to Western Cape

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2007-10-04 Tags: ,

The nineth tournament of the @lantic 7’s series moves to HS Outeniqua in George on Saturday, 20 October.  The player of the tournament will be invited to attend a training camp with the national 7’s team at the end of the year and will also be part of a youth team to tour Dubai at the end of November.  Saturday’s first match starts at 08:30 with the Cup final being played at 16:30.  According to sportpromoter, Willem Strauss the quality of play at the tournaments has surprised everyone involved.  "Springbok 7’s coach, Paul Treu has already identified several talented players who could even play in his national 7’s team in the future."  It is also encouraging to see the so called smaller schools compete with the top schools said Strauss.  The dramatic improvement of skill levels of the players participating in the @lantic 7’s series is also very noticable according to Strauss .

The participating teams this Saturday are: Outeniqua HS, HS Oudtshoorn, Bridgton HS, HS Punt, George HS, Pacaltsdorp, Parkdene HS, Albert Meyburgh, Langeberg HS, HS Uniondale and Kairos HS.
The winners of the first eight @lantic tournaments are:
Pretoria – Affies
Vereeniging – Monument
Upington – Upington Hoërskool
Durban – Sharks Academy
Middelburg – Ermelo Hoërskool
Polokwane – Hoërskool Ben Vorster

Klerksdorp – Hoërskool Midelburg
Bloemfontein – Harmony Sports Academy

The players of the @lantic tournaments are:
Pretoria – Gerrit van den Heever (Affies)
Vereeniging – GD Kotzee (Volkskool Heidelberg)
Upington – Joubert Engelbrecht (HS Upington)
Durban – Brian Shabangu (Glenwood)
Middelburg – Abednego Mamushi (Middelburg Hoërskool)
Polokwane – Glen Mafumo (Hoërskool Ben Vorster)

Klerksdorp – Pierre Lombard (Hoërskool Waterkloof)
Bloemfontein – Hoffman Maritz (Voortrekker Bethlehem)

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.