SuperSport Schools Plus

Waterkloof and SACS to clash for the National T20-title

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2020-03-08 Tags: , , , , ,

PSX 20200306 160342A new champion with be crowned tomorrow during the final day of the annual Cricket South Africa T20 Schools Challenge in Pretoria. The champions of 2011, Waterkloof of Pretoria, will face SACS of Cape Town, who will be playing in their first final from 14:00 at the Tuks Oval.

Both teams are the only unbeaten teams left in the competition. They will play one final cross-pool match tomorrow morning, but the outcome of both these matches will have no impact on the pool standings. Waterkloof will face Kearsney College, while SACS will warm up against St Andrews of Bloemfontein.

The defending champions, St Stithians College, was the only other team par the finalists who went into the second day’s play with their unbeaten record intact. They however suffered two defeats against Waterkloof and SACS during the second day.

St Stithians was on their way to a victory over Waterkloof, but the team from Pretoria managed to pull it through with three deliveries to spare. The Klofies needed eight runs from the final over with Richardt Ackermann (40*) striking two fours off the bowling of Liam McCarthy to secure the victory.

Saints’ Reuben du Toit’s run-scoring prowess during the competition continued as he added an invaluable 81 runs towards his side’s total op 160/7. Du Toit’s 152 runs so far during the weekend is the second-highest by any batsman. Ackermann was also the pick of Klofies’ bowlers as he grabbed two wickets at the cost of 28 runs.

The highest run-scorer in the competition after the second day is the opening batsman of Waterkloof SW Kemp. He has scored 159 runs in his side’s four matches thus far at an average of 39.8 runs per innings.

Kemp scored 46 runs as he and Christiaan du Toit (40) shared a 79-run opening partnership in Klofies’ second match of the day against Grey High School. Klofies won the match comfortably by 61 runs.

SACS won their first match of the second day against Kearsney College by six wickets. The hero being Oscar Welsh who picked up the first five-wicket haul of the finals tournament. He finished with bowling figures of 5/20.

The team from Cape Town then handed St Stithians their second defeat of the day to book their place in the final with a 15-run victory. Opening batsman Matthew Klusener top-scoring with 39 runs.

Kearsney College’s captain, Cade Carmichael, experienced a good day with the bat in hand. He struck 47 runs against SACS in the morning session, before hitting an unbeaten 75 runs against Queen’s High in the afternoon.

Summarised Scorecards:

Morning Matches

St Stithians College 160/7 (Reuben du Toit 81, Mohammed Manack 31, Tim Tector 22*; Richardt Ackermann 2/28); Waterkloof 164/6 (Richardt Ackermann 40*, SW Kemp 34, Simeon de Bruyn 25, Zander Maree 20; Mphela Maleka 2/16, Takunda Chanakira 2/29). Waterkloof won by four wickets.

St Andrews (Bloemfontein) 113/5 (Gerrit Badenhorst 43*, JD Bruwer 20; Lucky Ntleko 2/25); Queen’s High 81/8 (Lethabo Gulwa 21; Liam Doherty 2/6, Matthew Davids 2/24). St Andrews won by 32 runs.

Kearsney College 100 (Cade Carmichael 47, Jared Uys 24; Oscar Welsh 5/20, Michael Levitt 2/17); SACS 106/6 (Michael Levitt 26, Nathan Ansell 20; Joshua Stocks 2/18, Matthew McMurray 2/23). SACS won by six wickets.

Graeme College 84/8 (Garwin Dampies 29; Nicholas Keevy 2/10, Elih Thorne 2/26); Grey High School 85/2 (Nicholas Keevy 61). Grey High School won by eight wickets.

Afternoon Matches

Waterkloof 172/7 (SW Kemp 46, Christiaan du Toit 40, Hardus Coetzer 34, Zander Maree 22; George van Heerden 3/33, Mikhyle Brass 2/31); Grey High School 111 (Nicholas Keevy 39, George van Heerden 28; Hernus Marais 2/10, Simeon de Bruyn 2/17). Waterkloof won by 61 runs.

SACS 137/6 (Matthew Klusener 39, Kai Curren 31, Nathan Ansell 24, Daniel Smith 22); St Stithians College 122/9 (Billy van Zyl 38, Mohammed Manack 23; Oscar Welsh 2/15, Nathan Ansell 2/15). SACS won by 15 runs.

St Andrews (Bloemfontein) 140/7 (Liam Doherty 42, Tristan Wylie 31*, Sello Sesing 26; Aphiwe Mnyanda 4/13, Mzubanzi Mnande 2/29); Graeme College 128/9 (Garwin Dampies 45; Tristan Wylie 3/25). St Andrews won by 12 runs.

Queen’s High 127/7 (Nhanhla Ntleko 59, Lethabo Gulwa 26; Asande Nyawose 2/27); Kearsney College 131/3 (Cade Carmichael 75*, Jean-Luc Talbot 24*). Kearsney College won by seven wickets.


Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.