SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

Three in a row! Waterkloof make Titans A-League history

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | News , at 2023-10-24

Hoerskool Waterkloof have made history by becoming the first side to be crowned champions of the Titans A-League for three consecutive years.

They comfortably beat Pretoria Boys High by seven wickets over the course of two days in a mid-week showdown last week to sign off their league campaign on a winning note before heading into the Noordvaal Gunn & Moore playoffs.

When Boys High batted first, Hernus Marais led an onslaught with the ball for the Klofies, claiming three scalps for only 32 runs. His spell had the visitors in big trouble in the early going.

Jacques van Niekerk (2/24) and Franco Cronje (2/22) also chipped in with four wickets between them as Boys High stumbled along.

But Marc van der Merwe had an answer to everything the Klofies’ attack threw at him. He showed class and maturity amidst the chaos, working his way to a memorable 88 from 109 deliveries. His stubborn resistance also helped the visitors to a respectable 192 before they were bowled out in the 48th over.

As expected, the Klofies’ batsmen were comfortable on their home pitch. After the early loss of Wian Ruthven, Divan Behrens knuckled down to set the tone for the rest of the run chase. Playing smartly, he produced a match-winning 76 from 93 deliveries, which included six fours.

Beukes van den Berg also chipped in with a crucial captain’s knock of 68 from just 61 balls. Motoring along at a strike rate of 111, the Klofies’ skipper struck 10 fours. Together, the two senior statesmen shared an impressive 121-run partnership to guide Waterkloof to a seven-wicket victory.

Remember to submit your nominations for SuperSport Schools’ “The Class of ’23”. We invite you to be a part of this journey by nominating unforgettable moments, outstanding athletes, and inspiring coaches.

Your participation will help us recognise and showcase the true stars and stories of 2023. Submit your nominations on the following link –

Summarised scorecards: 

Pretoria Boys High 192/10 (Marc van der Merwe 88, Nicholas Rossouw 28; Hernus Marais 3/32, Jacques van Niekerk 2/24, Franco Cronje 2/22, Wian Ruthven 2/35); Waterkloof 194/3 (Divan Behrens 76, Beukes van den Berg 68; Rossouw 1/17). Waterkloof won by seven wickets.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.