SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

Strong Menlopark batting line-up comes off against Saints

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | News , at 2023-10-13

Menlopark fired off a serious warning shot to their opposition in the Westvaal North-South T20 tournament on Friday morning. The hosts chased down a challenging target of 201 set by Saint Andrew’s School with relative ease.

Marco Strydom (34, 22b) and Marcus de Aguiar (34, 17b*) led the charge with solid contributions.

Alongside the pair, Willem Sevenster chipped in with a blistering cameo to swing the momentum in favour of Menlopark. He sent the ball to all parts of the ground, racing to his 30 from just 13 balls.

Opening bowler JC Young led the Saints’ bowling attack, claiming the impressive figures of 2/30.

Meanwhile, Schalk Liebenberg set the standard for the Saint Andrew’s batsmen, compiling a wonderful 78 from just 42 deliveries. He found substantial support from Andre du Preez, who played equally well for his 53. Together, they helped the side from Bloemfontein post 200 for 8 in their 20 overs.

Waterkloof cruised to a thumping victory of eight wickets against Hoërskool Nelspruit. With Nellies batting first, the Klofie bowlers needed to hit their straps early and so they did. GJ de Swardt shone with a return of 2/12 in his four overs, while Franco Cronje returned similar figures, but from two overs.

With those two setting the tone, Waterkloof exerted a vice-like grip on the Nelspruit batting to restrict the opposition to a meagre 88/8 from their 20 overs.

Divan Behrens‘ 27 from 17 deliveries and a well-played 27 from Marcus Bakker broke the backbone of the run chase. A contribution of 26 from Wian Ruthven was the final nail in the coffin as the Klofies got home with more than 10 overs to spare.

Summarised Scorecard:

St Andrew’s School 200/8 (Schalk Liebenberg 78, André du Preez 53; GN van Zyl 3/29); Menlopark 202/7 (Marco Strydom 34, Marcus de Aguiar 34*, Willem Sevenster 30, Ben Strydom 26, Pierre de Villiers 23, Wian van Deventer 21; JC Young 2/30). Menlopark won by two wickets.

Hoërskool Nelspruit 88/8 (Luke Poisson 18; GJ de Swardt 2/12, Franco Cronjé 2/12); Waterkloof 89/2 (Divan Behrens 27, Marcus Bakker 27, Wian Ruthven 26; Brendan Boucher 1/8). Waterkloof won by eight wickets.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.