SuperSport Schools Plus

Saints the T20 champions of the Free State

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2020-02-24 Tags: ,

NewsGSaintsVryKampSt Andrews of Bloemfontein were crowned champions of the Free State-leg of the national T20 championship on Sunday. Saints defeated Grey College by 40 runs in the final which was played on the Johan Volsteedt Oval. 

Saints were the defending champions of the Free State and also represented the Knights’ franchise at the CSA T20 national final tournament in Pretoria last year. The team from Bloemfontein will face Yorkshire RPC of Kimberley in the Knights-final on Wednesday. The CSA T20 Challenge’s final tournament will take place in Pretoria next month. 

Saints are the only school from the Knights who have managed to be crowned national champs in the history of the prestigious tournament. They were crowned national champions back in 2018. 

Saints won the toss and elected to bat first and posted 125 runs before being bowled out at the end of the final over. JD Bruwer (38), Gerrit Badenhorst (27) and Reeza Alexander (23) all contributed with the bat. Juan-Dee Olivier of Grey College had a very good day with the ball in hand as he picked up four wickets at the cost of only 25 runs. 

Grey College could only answer 85 runs in return with Lerato Nqoyi (19*) and Neels Volschenk (19) providing most of the resistance. Matthew Davids caused some problems for the home side’s batsmen grabbing three wickets for a mere six runs. Alexander (2/23) and Johnny du Plessis (2/22) also managed to pick up two wickets each. 

Grey College was in devastating form in their two pool matches against Welkom Gimnasium and AHS Kroonstad. Marco Fouché managed to score the second-highest innings yet in the history of the competition with his unbeaten 170 runs against Rooiskool. The record of the competition belongs to Calvin Flanegan (207*) against Sand du Plessis back in 2018. 

Read More: 

Fouché slaan nuwe nasionale rekord met warrelwind beurt vir Grey los

Summarised Scorecards: 

St Andrews 125 in 19.5 overs (JD Bruwer 38, Gerrit Badenhorst 27, Reeza Alexander 23; Juan-Dee Olivier 4/25); Grey College 85 in 17.3 overs (Lerato Nqoyi 19*, Neels Volschenk 19; Matthew Davids 3/6, Johnny du Plessis 2/22, Reeza Alexander 2/23). St Andrews won by 40 runs.

[powr-comments id=”33852042_1582555856994″] 

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.