SuperSport Schools Plus


Oos-Moot clinch nail biter in Titans-league

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | News , at 2023-09-12

Oos-Moot managed to clinch a nail bitter on home soil against long-time rivals Hoërskool Wonderboom in their round-robin encounter of the Titans league on Saturday.

Wonderboom won the toss and decided they would like to bat first. The visitors got off to a troublesome start, losing two early wickets in quick succession.

Carlo Schmal brought some calm to the storm as he steadied the ship with a top-class half-century, scoring 59 of only 44 deliveries at an impressive strike rate of 134.

He was later joined by Divan Schmal, who joined the party with a half-century of his own scoring at a similar rate with his 57 coming from just 49 balls.

For the Osies, it was Stian Oosthuizen who proved vital with the ball as the opening bowler walked away with impressive figures of 3/27 in 6.1 overs. Oosthuizen was well supported by his counterparts in the form of Divan Potgieter (2/15) and Jayden Smith (2/69) as the trio’s efforts restricted the visitors to 217 all out.

Oos-Moot too got off to a subdued start with the Wonderboom bowlers making some early inroads before Stephan Pretorius got the Osie chase back on track with a well-played 47 from 43 deliveries before he had to head back to the pavilion.

With Pretorius’s departure, the Wonderboom attack found a second breath to have the home side on the ropes at 170 for 9 thanks to a remarkable bowling display from Eduan Kritzinger who bagged five scalps for just 21 runs.

Although, Stian Oosthuizen had other ideas. Oosthuizen followed up his strong bowling display with a fantastic, math-winning knock of 51 from 66 balls to secure a nail-biting win of one wicket for the home side as they got over the line with 219/9.

Summarised Scorecards:

Wonderboom 217/10 (Carlo Schmal 59, Divan Schmal 57; Stian Oosthuizen 3/27, Divan Potgieter 2/15, Jayden Smith 2/69); Oos-Moot 219/9 (Stian Oosthuizen 51*, Stephan Pretorius 47, Jaen de Bruyn 22; Eduan Kritzinger 5/21, Tyron Janse van Noordwyk 3/52). Oos-Moot won by one wicket.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.