SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Plus Logo

Nelson Mandela Bay light-up Day 2 of the u19 IPT for Girls

By Hannes Nienaber , in Water Sports | News , at 2023-12-10 Tags: ,

GQEBERHA. – The hosts, Nelson Mandela Bay, awakened on Day 2 of the annual u19 Water Polo IPT for Girls here.

The side drew 16-all against Western Province in what was surely the most entertaining match thus far in the tournament.

This clash was played at Alexander Road’s swimming pool and produced everything that a final needs. Suspense, drama as well as some superb performances.

They also smashed the Northern Tigers by 32-2 in the main match of the day in the Newton Park pool with Olivia Connellan (7), Jasmine Witthuhn (5), Jorja Ross (4) and Amy Wilson (4) being responsible for the bulk of the goals.

The Northern Tigers experienced a tough day at the office as they also were on the receiving end against Zimbabwe (1-30) earlier in the day. Their goal by Ngandu Muzungu however was probably the highlight of the match and probably one of the best during the day.

The defending champions, Central Gauteng, kept their unbeaten record in place by beating KwaZulu-Natal by 15-3. They will face Buffalo City and Eastern Gauteng on Day 3 in their final two pool matches of the tournament. Mia Loizides scored five goals in the victory over KwaZulu-Natal to count herself amongst the top goal scorers thus far in Gqeberha.

The highlight of Day 3 might be the clash between Western Province and Central Gauteng’s B-side.

Results | Day 2

Nelson Mandela Bay 32 – Goals: Olivia Connellan (7), Jasmine Witthuhn (5), Jorja Ross (4), Amy Wilson (4), Matipa Marimazondo (3), Amelia Brown (2), Teagan Harty (2), Avu Dyaphu, Jamie Lacey, Dominique de Jongh, Amie Jenner. Northern Tigers 2 – Goals: Ngandu Muzungu (2).

Western Province B 16 – Goals: Nicole Bantom (4), Amy Pettipher (4), Isabella Tooley (3), Leila Hibling (2), Abigail Bester, Kiara Bester, Jemma Stearns. Eastern Gauteng 9 – Goals: Maddison Griffin (6), Keira Hale (2), Alshe de Klerk.

Zimbabwe 30 – Goals: Lauren Ashwin (6), Erin Brent (6),  Zoe Denslow (4), Natalie Hazeldean (3), Shannon Cooke (2), Jessie Sparrow (2), Bailey Knox (2), Ayva Kirkman (2), Jordyn Logan, Charlotte Martell, Sophia Savo. Northern Tigers 1 – Goal: Ngandu Muzungu.

Central Gauteng 15 – Goals: Mia Loizides (5), Charlotte Crick (4), Jenna Penney (2), Ruby Carlson (2), Gina Sgauzzin, Georgia Eccles. KwaZulu-Natal 3 – Goals: Taylor Cherry (2), Caitlin McMurray.

Nelson Mandela Bay 16 – Goals: Anna Pinto (4), Jamie Lacey (3), Matipa Karimazondo (3), Amie Jenner (3), Teagan Harty (2), Amelia Brown. Western Province 16 – Goals: Hannah Banks (6), Morgan Christian (2), Erin-Belle Nordgaard (2), Emma Catto (2), Amy van Breda (2), Alexa de Villiers, Emily van Heerden.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.