SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

Experience and young talent in Eastern Storm’s Khaya Majola team

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | News , at 2023-11-17

The Eastern Storm u19 side for the 2023 Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week has been revealed, with four big names returning from last year’s team.

Thus, it will be an exciting blend of experience and youth representing the region at the inter-provincial tournament.

Dewan Marais and Tristan van Schalkwyk from Marais Viljoen will form the core of the group’s leadership, along with the St Benedict’s College duo of Simele Maye and Luphumlo Mhlongo, who were also members of the 2022 side.

Another talent from Marais Viljoen, Juan Steyn will also attend his first week. The exciting fast bowler’s performances recently secured him a spot in the provisional SA squad for the 2024 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup alongside Marais, who’s been outstanding with the bat in hand.

Aldre Huyzers and Sheldon van Wyk also cracked the nod to lift Marais Viljoen’s tally up to five representatives.

St Benedict’s have four players in the line-up, with Parth Patel and Dean Hackner breaking through to earn their first call-ups.

At the same time, Ephes Mamkedi School can boast their two representatives in Martin Khumalo and Sabelo Mabanga.

Ahmed Imran, an exciting young talent, is in the team for the first time this year as the only representative from Springs Secondary School, while MOM Sebone Secondary School’s Nhlakanipho Ndaba completes the line-up after also receiving a tick from the selectors.

The Eastern’s squad appears to be well balanced, with all bases covered. It’s a line-up that could cause some major upsets in Makhanda in December.

Eastern Storm u19: Sabelo Mabanga (Ephes Mamkedi School), Dewan Marais (Marais Viljoen), Aldre Huyzers (Marais Viljoen), Tristan van Schalkwyk (Marais Viljoen), Simele Maye (St Benedict’s), Juan Steyn (Marais Viljoen), Ahmed Imran (Spring Secondary School), Luphumlo Mhlongo (St Benedict’s), Dean Hackner (St Benedict’s), Martin Khumalo (Ephes Mamkedi School), Part Patel (St Benedict’s), Nhlakanipho Ndaba (MOM Sebone Secondary School).

Marais Viljoen 5; St Benedict’s 4; Ephes Mamkeli 2; Springs Secondary School 1; MOM Sebone Secondary School 1 

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.