SuperSport Schools Plus

Results – #Wildeklawer – Day 2

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2014-04-30 Tags: , , ,

Wedstryd 1 - Man of MatchPaul Roos Gimnasium completed a impressive Wildeklawer tournament with a 30-10 over EG Jansen from Boksburg. The latter will play in the final of the Tuks-series on 10 May against HTS Middelburg. 

The team from Stellenbosch’s flyhalf, Reinhard Fortuin was once again impressive and if there was a player of the tournament announced he would’ve been one of the strongest candidates. 

HTS Middelburg held on for a 12-11 victory over Boland Landbou in the opening match of the first day of the Wildeklawer tournament of 2014 at Diamantveld in Kimberley. The Rooi Bulle from Middelburg took the lead for the first time in the 45th minute of the match via their fullback Barend Smit’s fourth succesful penalty goal attempt. 

Boland Landbou almost snatched the victory in the dying moments with scrumhalf, Jondre Williams taking aim at goal from 45 metres out after the hooter, but he just pushed it wide. The team from Paarl’s hooker, Eduard Snyman was over the tryline just a few minutes earlier, but referee Vusimusi Msibi judged it held-up. 

The moment of the match came from Boland Landbou’s winger, Sergull van Niekerk who side-stepped two defenders to score from the halfway line to give his side a 11-6 lead. Smit kept HTS Middelburg in range with a 50 metre penalty kick just shortley after Van Niekerk’s try.

Outeniqua recorded a hard-fought 20-15 victory over Glenwood. The side from Durban took an early lead 10-3 in the first half which they dominated through two tries by flankers and battering rams McMillan Miller and James Venter. 

The Kwaggas drew level through a try by fullback Corne de Klerk before prop Andrew Kuhn secured the victory with his try. The team from George dominated the second half, while the first half belonged to Glenwood. 


HTS Middelburg 12 (6) – Penalties: Barend Smit (4). Boland Landbou 11 (6) – Try: Sergull van Niekerk. Penalties: Jondre Williams (2). 

Outeniqua 20 (10) – Tries: Penalty Try, Corne de Klerk, Andrew Kuhn. Conversion: Manie Libbok. Penalty: Libbok. Glenwood 15 (10) – Tries: McMillan Miller, James Venter, Philani Ngcobo. 

Paul Roos Gimnasium 30 (18) – Tries: Reinhard Fortuin, Nico Leonard, Aidynn Cupido, Calvin Nel. Conversions: Fortuin (2). Penalties: Fortuin (2). EG Jansen 10 (3) – Try: Marco Niemand. Conversion: Forrest Roos. Penalty: Delano Kotze. 

Maritzburg College 21 (7) – Tries: Renard le Roux (2), Byron Watson. Conversions: Marcell Coetsee (3). Diamantveld 9 (6) – Penalties: Gerco Nortje (3).

Affies 21 (18) – Tries: Gavin Foster, Dale Hendricks. Conversion: Pieter Coetser. Penalties: Hendricks (2), Coetser. Oakdale Landbou 10 (5) – Tries JP Coetzee, Boeta Hamman. 

Waterkloof 39 (15) – Tries: Juandre Michau (3), Tinus de Beer, Dewald Fourie. Conversions: De Beer (4). Penalty: De Beer (2). Grey Boys’ High School 24 (12) – Tries: Johann van Niekerk, Jeremy Ward, Matthew Lawson, Mo Connnelly. Conversions: Garrick Matteus (2).  

King Edward VII 13 (0) – Try: Dorian Botha. Conversion: Tony de Zorzi. Penalties: De Zorzi, Rashard Fuller. Noord-Kaap 12 (0) – Tries: Austen Jooste, Gerhard Holtzhausen. Conversion: Robbie Petzer. 

Coca-Cola Schools Excellence 35 (24) – Tries: Conal Brown (3), Romano Collins. Conversions: Dennis Cox (3). Penalties: Cox (3). HTS Drostdy 28 (13) – Tries: Wynand Roets, Marnu Bartels, Zander Fernhout. Conversion: Roets. Penalties: Roets (4). 

Monument 23 (14) – Tries: Gavin Delport, Juan Lemmer. Conversions: Wikus van Biljon (2). Penalties: Van Biljon (3). Selborne College 23 (13) – Tries: David Britz, Tristian Coetzer. Conversions: Morgan Steyn (2). Penalties: Steyn (3). 

Grey College 15 (8) – Tries: Henry Slabbert, Alex Jonker. Conversion: Henry Immelman. Penalty: Immelman. Paarl Gimnasium 14 (7) – Try: Taigh Schoor, Paul Human. Conversion: Walter Smit (2). 

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.