SuperSport Schools Plus

Results – Day 2 – Grant Khomo Week 2019

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2019-06-26 Tags:

NewsGGKWesternProvinceWestern Province is the team to beat at this year’s Grant Khomo Week in White River. They will face the Sharks in the main match of this year’s tournament on Rob Ferreira’s main field.

The team from the Cape pushed last year’s unofficial champions, the Free State, aside by 44-12 on the second day of the tournament to keep their unbeaten record intact.

Western Province is one of only four unbeaten sides left in the tournament. The Golden Lions kept their unbeaten record by beating Eastern Province by 29-19 in their second clash.  The Sharks drew 20-all against South Western Districts, while the latter also drew their first match of the festival against the Free State (38-all).


Western Province 44 (31) – Tries: Keagan Smith (3), Tris van Dyk, Sulie Hartzenberg, Hakeem Kunene. Conversions: Compion von Ludwig (4). Penalties: Von Ludwig, Smith. Free State 12 (5) – Tries: Regan Izaks, Jan Meyer. Conversion: Jean Smith.

Sharks 20 (17) – Tries: Jannes Potgieter (2). Conversions: Christian Els (2). Penalty: Els (2). South Western Districts 20 (6) – Tries: Johron Jansen, Neil le Roux. Conversions: Le Roux (2). Penalties: Le Roux (2).

Boland 30 (18) – Tries: Ghudian van Reenen (2), Keanu Philander (2), Ashwill Dampies. Conversions: Van Reenen. Penalty: Van Reenen. Griqualand West 20 (10) – Tries: Jeandré Rust, Jeanovane Jansen. Conversions: Carlo Louw (2). Penalties: Louw (2).

Golden Lions 29 (19) – Tries: Shaan van der Walt (2), Henré van Zyl, Katlego Letebele. Conversions: Bronson Mills (2), Joshua Smith. Penalty: Smith. Eastern Province 17 (0) – Tries: Hlombe Langa, Dwayne Pharo, Liyabona Matabiele. Conversion: Divan Moss.

Leopards 22 (14) – Tries: Alex Mokatse (2), Letlhogonolo Kgaudi. Conversions: Dean Snyders (2). Penalty: JP Klue. Valke 19 (14) – Tries: Alberto Speelman, Wian McGeer, Joseph Skosana. Conversions: Eduard Olivier (2).

Blue Bulls 38 (19) – Tries: Thansville Mayman, Kevin Locke, Jorim Bangue, Tian Muller, Leighton Horn, Dillon Oppelt. Conversions: Riaan Gerber (4). Pumas 17 (7) – Tries: Monteo Meyer, Duimpie Markus, Jacquin Jacobus. Conversion: Christiaan Gates.

Border 13 (10) – Try: Kyle Thompson. Conversion: Riego Heath. Penalties: Heath (2). Griffons 8 (8) – Try: Henro Claasen. Penalty: Claasen.

Iqhawe XV 23 (15) – Tries: Uthmaan Lackay, Denver van Wyk, Cullen Smith. Conversion: Wessie Odendaal. Penalties: Likhona Ntalantala, Odendaal. Namibia 20 (3) – Tries: Keanan Januarie, Owen Hawanga, Herman Coetzee. Conversion: Denver Beukes. Penalty: Ethan Koopman.

Limpopo Blue Bulls 26 () – Tries: Bradley Mokwena, Marvin Mofokeng, Junior Sethaba, Tshegofatso Ramaloko. Conversions: Tiaan van den Heever (3). Pumas 7 (0) – Drie: Buhle Thusi. Conversion: Christo Nel.

Zimbabwe 10 (10) – Tries: Tamuka Kambani, Richard Mapfumo. Border Country Districts 0.

[powr-comments id=”b8c22ba0_1561548293264″]

Hannes Nienaber