SuperSport Schools Plus


Results – Day 1 – Grant Khomo Week 2022

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2010-06-14 Tags:


The Grant Khomo Week (for u16 players) kicked-off in a cold as usual Kimberley with the matches being played at the venue of this year’s historic Currie Cup final, Tafel Lager Park.

In the clash of the day Western Province managed to steal a 24-17 victory over the Golden Lions.

A try by winger Tristan Fransman gave WP the lead for the first time in the match with a mere three minutes left on the clock.

The match will be remembered for the clash between the two flyhalfs, Simphiwe Moyo (Golden Lions) and Viaan Mentoor (WP). Moyo slotted four penalties to keep the scoreboard ticking and his side in front.

Three of these penalties plus a try by Junior van Wyngaardt gave the Lions a 11-5 lead at the break. In the second half it was Mentoor time to shine as he provided the spark for the comeback scoring a try as well as providing the platform for his side’s two other tries.

Free State’s fullback, Theko Montjane, scored a hat-trick of tries as his side started their campaign off with a 28-12 victory over Border.

The Griffons’ Nr. 8, Rylen Kirsten also crossed the tryline three times as the Purple People Eaters came out on top by 45-21 against the Limpopo Blue Bulls.

The Blue Bulls came out charging as they smashed South Western Districts by 43-7 in their clash on the opening day.

The team from Pretoria already led 17-0 at the break after using all the scoring chances that came their way during the first half.

All the matches are streamed live via the SuperSportSchools app.


Boland 36 (22) – Tries: Ewald Vorster (2), Armand Croeser, Fortune Goni, MJ van der Westhuizen, Luan Giliomee. Conversions: Giliomee (3). Griqualand West 14 (0) – Tries: SW van Heerden, Sylvester Hoffman. Conversions: Simon Liversage (2).

Western Province 24 (5) – Tries: Almero Keizer, Viaan Mentoor, Tristan Fransman, Reuben Kruger. Conversions: Ashwin Cox (2). Golden Lions 17 (11) – Try: Junior van Wyngaardt. Penalties: Simphiwe Moyo (4).

Sharks 42 (21) – Tries: Vuyo Gwiji, Carlyle Hawkins, Imivuyo Kemka, Zenkosi Mthiyane, Swelihle Mbatha, Aiden Botha. Conversions: Tomas Baguley (6). Eastern Province 13 (10) – Try: Johannes Van Zyl. Conversion: Lucraine Muggels. Penalty goals: Muggels (2).

Valke 29 (7) – Tries: Storm Labuschagne, R-Jay Pietersen, Zaid Rippenaar, Divan Francis, Conversions: Kayle Venter (3). Penalty: Venter. Pumas 0.

Blue Bulls 43 (17) – Tries: Janco Purchase, Malcolm George, Malan Graham, Ruben Pienaar, Jeffery Singa, Ruan Lippoldt, JJ Koekemoer. Conversions: Pienaar (4). South Western Districts 7 (0) – Try: Keanon Jantjies. Conversion: Elgernon Meyer.

Free State 28 (14) – Tries: Theko Montjane (3), Heinrich Theron. Conversions: Alzeadin Felix (2), Toriq Schambreel (2). Border 12 (0) – Tries: T Fenako, B Mtshini. Conversion: I Mbulana.

Griffons 45 (26) – Tries: Rylen Kirsten (3), Hloni Mokotjo, Ru-Bran Kock, Frederick Fourie, Craig Mann. Conversions: Cheswill Jooste (3), Fourie. Limpopo Blue Bulls 21 (7) – Tries: Damian Bye, Botter Geyer, Unathi Mlotshwa. Conversions: Mlotshwa (3).

Zimbabwe 15 (10) – Tries: Thomas Judson (2), Wayne Kuraimunashe. Griqualand West XV 7 (0) – Try: De Wet du Plooy. Conversion: Ethan Faber.

Namibia 12 (5) – Tries: Janco van Tonder (2). Conversion: Waldre Kotze. Border Country Districts 0.

Western Province XV 31 (24) – Tries: Liam Burger (2), Samuel Badenhorst, Michael Satade, Xander Engelbrecht. Conversions: Rayaan Solomons (2), Retagan van Rooi. Leopards 17 (10) – Tries: Lorenzo Snyers, Alexander Benedetti. Conversion: Snyers. Penalty: Snyers.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.