SuperSport Schools Plus

Gauteng and Griqualand West remain unbeaten after three days at the CSA National u13 Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2013-12-11

Three teams Gauteng, Griqualand West and Northerns managed to be victorious is both their Twenty/20 matches on the third day of the Cricket South Africa’s National u13 Week here. Gauteng and Griquas is the only two unbeaten teams left after three days.

Gauteng defeated Western Province and Border in their two matches on the third day. The victory against Western Province was an emphatic one with Gauteng posting 150/1 in their allotted 20 overs. Gareth Schreuder (69*) and JP Bloem (63*) showing off their batting skills with unbeaten half-centuries. Western Province could only manage 89/1 in reply.

Griqualand West came out on top against Eastern Province and KwaZulu-Natal Inland in their two matches. Jan Duvenhage (64) was the star with his half-century in his side’s victory over the team from KwaZulu-Natal.

Talking about KwaZulu-Natal the best individual performance on the third day belonged to their batsman, Simon Holmes. Holmes smashed an unbeaten 102 runs against Northerns. It was however not enough to prevent the defeat. He faced 65 deliveries and dispatch 14 of them past the boundary. Six of them landed for the first time on the other side of the boundary rope.

His teammate Caleb Pillay (92*) just missed out on his century in their match against Mpumalanga earlier in the day. The hosts Free State recorded a victory over Mpumalanga in their second match thanks to an allround performance by South African under-13 javelin champion and record holder, Jan Schlebusch. He removed five batsmen for 15 runs in the match before steering his side home with an unbeaten 49 runs with the bat.

The seam bowler Duan Janse of North West also had a good day with the ball in hand. He grabbed four wickets for a mere 10 runs in his side’s victory over Boland. He then dismissed another four batsmen at the cost of 22 runs in his match against Western Province.

Summarised Scorecards:
Round 1:

Gauteng 150/1 (Gareth Schreuder 69*, JP Bloem 63*); Western Province
81/9 (Extras 21; Clayton Perring 3/11). Gauteng won by 69 runs.

Griqualand West 88/7 (Conor McMamara 17; Jeremy Beyleveld 2/11); Eastern Province 84 (Christopher Gleaves 23, Tiaan van Vuuren 23; Justin Potgieter 2/12, DS van Niekerk 2/13). Griqualand West won by four runs.

North West 80/9 (Jared Venter 18; Ussiel Langeveldt 2/8, Vernon Willemse 2/11); Boland 76/9 (Theo Louwrens 19; Duan Jansen 4/10).
North West won by four runs.

Free State 73/8 (Christean Neethling 21*; Ryan Hulme 2/13, Yaseen Ebrahim 2/17); Northerns 74/0 (Tiaan Kruger 33*, Modiri Litheko 32*).
Northerns won by ten wickets.

Zimbabwe 123/7 (Marshall Takodza 47; Sahil Khan 4/29); Easterns 87/6 (Ayabonga Huwa 30*; Jonathan Connolly 2/17). Zimbabwe won by 36 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal 137/3 (Caleb Pillay 92*, Matthew Pollard 25); Mpumalanga
94/7 (Gysbert Ehlers 30; Joshua Brown 4/13). KwaZulu-Natal won by 43 runs.

Limpopo 82/9 (MW Theunissen 22; Nikhil Gopal 2/9); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 83/2 (Michael Schlanders 41*, Jared Campbell 25*; Dian Forrester 1/8). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by eight wickets.

Border 124/6 (James Ritchie 40, Jethro Newton 27; Brian Jack 2/27); South Western Districts 97/9 (Tristan Stubbs 23; Anele Makhongolo 3/6, James Ritchie 2/15). Border won by 27 runs.

Round 2:

KwaZulu-Natal 161/3 (Simon Holmes 102*); Northerns 163/3 (Tiaan Kruger 70, Heinrich Bisschoff 67). Northerns won by seven wickets.

Easterns 92/5 (Willem Myburgh 27; Gareth Wolmarans 2/22); Boland 93/4 (Marthus Coetzee 57; Nathan Hees 2/10). Boland won by four wickets.

Gauteng 116/6 (Mudiwah-Jonah Chankira 30; Siba Xamlashe 2/15); Border
68/7 (Akhanya Rebe 16; Clayton Perring 2/7, Fraser Jones 2/10).
Gauteng won by 48 runs.

Eastern Province 101/5 (Tiaan van Vuuren 31*; Cameron Butler 2/15); Zimbabwe 65 (Parudo Mugore 24; Delron Simons 2/2). Eastern Province won by 36 runs.

Mpumalanga 99 (Jordan Grove 31; Jannes Schlebusch 5/15, Brandon Callis 3/16); Free State 103/4 (Jannes Schlebusch 49*, Stefan van der Linden 20*). Free State won by six wickets.

Griqualand West 117/8 (Jan Duvenhage 64; Jared Campbell 4/14); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 103/5 (Jared Campbell 31, Michael Sclanders 31; Mason Zacharia 2/17, DS van Niekerk 2/22). Griqualand West won by 14 runs.

Western Province 110/6 (Brent Johnson 33, Gabriel Gad 30; Duan Jansen 4/22); North West 102. Western Province won by eight runs.

Limpopo 71 (Glen Groenewald 22*; Matthew Boltler 3/6, Brian Jack 3/15); South Western Districts 73/6 (Sheldon Karelse 17*; Dian Forrester 3/20). South Western Districts won by four wickets.

Hannes Nienaber