SuperSport Schools Plus

Coleske pick up five as Marais Viljoen bags outright victory

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2023-01-07 Tags:

Marais Viljoen of Alberton would be more than happy about their performance during the opening day of the annual Paarl Boys’ High Cricket Festival.

All the matches of the festival are being live-streamed via the SuperSportSchools platform.

The team of Alberton managed to secure an outright victory over Hoërskool Brackenfell in their time-cricket clash. Brakkies could only reach 47 before being bowled out thanks to a five-wicket haul by Nathan Coleske (5/13).

Marais Viljoen was able to declare their first innings at 332/5 thanks to half-centuries by Tristan van Scholburg (76), Sheldon van Wyk 60), Cayden Ramage (58*), and Tiaan du Toit (58).

Brakkies was once again bowled out cheaply in their second innings. In their total of 43 the only batsman who managed to reach double figures was a certain fella named Extras.

Declan Botes (4/4) and Van Scholburg (3/10) caused most of the damage with the ball in hand.

Paarl Gimnasium secured a victory on the first innings over Noordheuwel of Krugersdorp. Kyle Smith (34) top-scoring as Gimmies reached 149 runs.

Noordheuwel was restricted to only 60 runs with Marco Steyn (4/27) and Jean-Luc van Dyke (3/9) being the heroes for the team from Paarl.

Grey College of Bloemfontein is adding to its cricket depth with an invitation side attending the festival in the Boland. They lost to Westville Boys’ High on the first innings.

Westville’s Caden McAllister (49*) and Connor Jenkins (35*) were busy building a proper partnership before the end of play.

Grey College’s first team is currently in action during their annual cricket festival in the City of Roses.

Summarised Scorecards: 

Paarl Gimnasium first innings 149 (Kyle Smith 34, Extras 21, Roland Vivier 20; Corne Botha 3/9, Juandre Schoeman 2/19); Noordheuwel first innings 60 (Juandre Schoeman 20; Marco Steyn 4/27, Jean-Luc van Dyke 3/9, Tazreeq Moerat 2/19). Paarl Gimnasium won on first innings.

Brackenfell first innings 47 (Jean Oosthuizen 30; Nathan Coleske 5/13, Juan Steyn 2/17); Marais Viljoen first innings 332/5 (Tristan van Scholburg 76, Sheldon van Wyk 60, Cayden Ramage 58*, Tiaan du Toit 58, Aldre Huyzers 24, Tiaan Kuhn 23; Luke Hattingh 2/48); Brackenfell second innings 43 (Extras 12; Declan Botes 4/4, Tristan van Scholburg 3/10, Connor Meistre 2/9). Marais Viljoen won outright.

Durbanville first innings 199/8 (Lian Labuschagne 36, Tobie Roelofse 28, William Goldswain 24; Christian Viljoen 2/7, Damian Charslund 2/38); Potchefstroom Gimnasium first innings 193 (Ewald Kruger 58, James Wood 28, Ruan Lotz 21; Tobie Roelofse 3/24, Jan Kriel 3/52); Durbanville second innings 112/4 (Jacques Koen 43*, Mica Labuschagne 32; Marnu Cronje 2/32); Potchefstroom Gimnasium second innings 40/5 (Tommie Botha 17; Xander van Aarde 2/14). Durbanville won on first innings.

Grey College Invitation XI first innings 118 (Niko Orbett 19; Yaseen Khan 3/17), James Dent 2/14); Westville Boys’ High first innings 120/3 (Caden McAllister 49*, Connor Jenkins 35*, Yaseen Khan 23; AJ Meyer 1/7). Westville Boys’ High won on first innings.

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.