SuperSport Schools Plus

Century and 10-wicket haul get EP off to flying start

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2015-12-12

THE Eastern Province pair of Simon Taylor and Charles Benjamin were both on top of the game as they set up their team for an outright victory over Northern Cape on the opening day of the CSA under-17 Tournament in Pietermaritzburg and its surrounds on Friday.

Taylor, an off-spinner, had a match return of 10/46 including 7/14 in the first innings when Northern Cape could only muster a total of 67 in 40 overs.

Thereafter Benjamin made much lighter of the conditions as he scored an unbeaten century off only 117 balls with 9 fours to set Eastern Province up for a total of 241/4 declared.

It was a good day for the Eastern Cape as Border also provided a centurion in Ty Maclean (100 not out off 130 balls, 14 fours) on their way to a total of 201/5 declared that was more than enough to secure a first innings win over Limpopo. Maclean and Jason Niemand (76) were involved in the biggest partnership of the day of 153 for the 4th wicket.

There was another critical partnership of 127 for the third wicket between Tyla Scarles (86) and Jesse Christensen (67) that set up a comfortable first innings win for Western Province against North West.

The highest total of the day came from Gauteng who piled up 253/3 declared in response to Free State’s 124 with their top five batsmen all getting good starts.

There was a real cliff-hanger in the match between two of the tournament heavyweights, KZN and Northerns with the latter having to hang on for a draw with their last pair at the wicket.

On the second day of the national under-15 tournament in East London roles were reversed with the bowlers having a big say after the batsmen had dominated day one.

There were some remarkable analyses with Gerald Coetzee’s return of 6/3 in 7.4 overs against KZN Inland probably the pick. His innings of 29 was largely responsible for Free State having the first innings advantage (95 against 46) before going on to win outright by 9 wickets.

Matt Dewar, the captain of Border, was another to put in a fine all-round performance as he took 4/5 in 4.5 overs against Easterns and then made top score of 40 for his side (76 balls, 5 fours).

A third good all-round performance came from Dian Forrester of Limpopo who took 6/17 in 14.4 overs and then contributed 48 runs with the bat. In spite of these efforts Mpumalanga still won on the first innings.

The best batting performance came from Peter Jarvis of Eastern Province who made the second century of the week (113 off 141 balls, 16 fours) in his side’s first innings win over KZN while Wikus Lindeque of Northerns went close with his unbeaten 96 (131 balls, 12 fours and a six) against Western Province.

The result of the day was unquestionably Boland’s first innings win over Gauteng, a match in which Brenton Manual took 6/21 and Sam Henderson made 52 for the boys from the Western Cape.

For the second day in a row Western Province had to hold on for a draw, this time having their last pair at the crease against Northerns.


Free State first innings 124 (Philip Visser 46; Mitchell van Buuren 3/20, Travis Doyle 2/11); Gauteng first innings 253/3 decl. (Muhammed Mayed 69*, Josh Coetzee 59, Mitchell van Buuren 55*; Ofentse Thaele 2/37); Free State second innings 27/0 (Johan van Eck 13*). Gauteng won on first innings.

Western Province first innings 210/9 decl. (Tyla Scarles 84, Jesse Christensen 67, Mathew Roman 35*; Vuyo Koki 3/27); North West first innings 120 (Louis van Schalkwyk 46; Mika Ekstrom 3/12); Western Province second innings 14/1 (Mujaahid Toffar 8*). Western Province won on first innings.

KwaZulu-Natal eerste beurt 225 (James Stamatis 71, Thamsanqa Khumalo 36; Ruan Kriek 4/33, Kiel van Vollenhoven 4/61); Noordelikes eerste beurt 135/9 (Francois van Heerden 44; Sheroze Khan 3/16, Zakaiya Paruk 2/9). Onbeslis.

Grens eerste beurt 266/5 verkl. (Ty MacLean 100*, Dylan Deetlefs 41; Collins Mashele 2/61); Limpopo eerste beurt 182 (Sias Willemse 45; Siphe Gqadu 3/21, Jason Niemand 3/41); Grens tweede beurt 33/3 verkl (Philip Bester 2/22). Limpopo tweede beurt 80/4 (Sias Willemse 32). Grens wen na eerste beurt.

Noord-Kaap eerste beurt 67 (Nakkie Duvenhage 18; Simon Taylor 7/14, Kenan Smith 3/21); Oostelike Provinsie eerste beurt 241/4 verkl. (Christopher Benjamin 100*, David Masaterson 50, Adrian Leibbrandt 45; Sipho Hlithana 2/64); Noord-Kaap tweede beurt 87/5 (Nakkie Duvenhage 56; Simon Taylor 3/32). Oostelike Provinsie wen regstreeks.

KZN Binneland eerste beurt 146 (Matthew Dicks 38; Davis Murwendo 3/17, Gabriel Jaya 3/21); Zimbabwe eerste beurt 200/9 verkl. (Dion Mazhawidza 50; Scott Steenkamp 3/20). Zimbabwe wen na eerste beurt.

Boland eerste beurt 163 (Benjamin Henderson 35; Branden Brodell 4/47, André Vosloo 3/32); Mpumalanga eerste beurt 148 (Branden Brodell 54; Curtley Deelman 3/33); Boland tweede beurt 42/2 verkl. (Curtley Deelman 25*); Mpumalanga tweede beurt 17/1 (Curtley Deelman 1/10). Boland wen na eerste beurt.

Oostelikes eerste beurt 247/7 verkl. (Louis Geldenhuys 76, Chris Opperman 59*; Faghan Adonis 2/14); SWD eerste beurt 112/8 (Francois Barnard 35; Brandon Harwood 3/19). Onbeslis.

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.