SuperSport Schools Plus

It has been ten years since the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week has been hosted by Durban. When the tournament was last hosted by Durban in 2003 five future Proteas gave their first steps towards becoming professional cricketers.

Proteas Vernon Philander (Western Province), Colin Ingram (Eastern Province), Dean Elgar (Free State), Rusty Theron (Eastern Province) and Vaughn van Jaarsveld (Gauteng) were all stars for their respective provinces at the tournament. South African opening bowler, Philander (100) recorded a century in his side’s match against Free State. Van Jaarsveld (117) against KwaZulu-Natal also managed a century during the week.

Van Jaarsveld, Ingram, Philander, Divan van Wyk (Free State), Craig Alexander (Western Province), Andrew Birch (Eastern Province) and Blake Snijman (Gauteng) is current franchise players whom were selected for the South African Schools’ side of 2003. Some of the other first class players who were in action in Durban that year include Craig Kieswetter (SA u17), Jean Symes (Gauteng) and CJ de Villiers (Free State).

In an age where dual-sportsmen are a dwindling specie four first class rugby players Robbie Diack (KwaZulu-Natal), Joey Mongalo (Northerns), Alwyn Hollenbach (Free State) and Petri Kunz (Free State Country Districts) showed of their cricketing skills at the 2003 edition of the tournament.

The 2013 edition of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week will once again be a major stepping stone for a few future Protea stars. The captain of last year’s South African Schools’ side, Diego Rosier already made the step up to franchise level. He was the player of the tournament in Cape Town in 2011. His predecessor as the 2010 player of the tournament, Quinton de Kock already represented the Proteas and recorded his maiden international century in the recent series against Pakistan.

No less than 12 players who was part of the squad who reached the final of the quadrangle tournament in India namely Yaseen Valli (Gauteng), Lloyd Brown (Eastern Province), Bradley Dial (Gauteng), Clyde Fortuin, Dayyaan Galiem (both Western Province), Ntshona, Lungisano Ngidi, Greg Oldfield (both KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Kagiso Rabada (Gauteng), Ngazibini Sigwili (Border) and Hayes van der Berg (Western Province). These players goal should be to stamp their authority on the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week of 2013.

Three of them Fortuin, Sigwili and Oldfield already made the South African Schools’ side after the 2012 edition of the tournament. Another four players Valli, Rabada, Jean Heunis (South Western Districts) and Van der Berg will be looking to secure their places in the national schools’ side with some good performances during the tournament.

Quite a few players will attend their third Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Durban. The list of players are Aubrey Ferreira (Border), Jurie Snyman (Easterns), Ryan du Plessis, Sine Ntshona, Sachinta Galhenhage ( all Free State), Ainslee Bok, Aidon Brooker (both Griqualand West), Lance Roelfse (South Western Districts), Wehan Joubert (Mpumalanga), Andrew Rasemenya and Gregory Mahlokoane (both Northerns).

The South African Schools’ captain of 1982 and 1983, Mark Rushmere’s son Andrew will be attending this year’s tournament in Durban. Mark’s older son Michael also attended the tournament in 2011 when it was hosted in Cape Town. Mark represented the Proteas in their first test match since isolation. Andrew will like his father and brother represent Eastern Province at the prestigious week.

Two players Sintu Manjezi (Eastern Province) and GM Bruwer (Griqualand West) also took part in the 50th Coca-Cola Craven Week for rugby players in Polokwane. Manjezi who played lock for Eastern Province Country Districts also captained his provincial side. Bruwer scored a century at last year’s Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Potchefstroom. He played in his second Coca-Cola Craven Week in Polokwane earlier this year.

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.