SuperSport Schools Plus

Jeppe and Helpies to face-off in Johnny Waite Knockout final

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2023-02-23 Tags: ,

PHOTO: Jeppe Facebook

A hat-trick by Ryan Harcourt-Baldwin catapulted Jeppe High School for Boys into the final of this year’s Johnny Waite Knockout tournament.

Harcourt-Baldwin finished the T20-clash against King Edward VII with bowling figures of 4/12. The semi-final between the two teams where played at

He removed Kian Hilton (3), Cameron Smith (0) and Fyaaz Vawda (0) in succesive deliveries in the tenth over to make KES stumble from 45/4 to 45/7.

Harcourt-Baldwin was deservedly named Man-of-the-Math for his efforts with ball in hand. He received some assistance from Luke Cannon (3/14).

Jeppe will face Helpmekaar-kollege in the final of this prestigious tournament.

Jeppe reached 101 before being bowled out against KES with Tshepo Stafa (25) and Jaydon Brooker (25) making valuable contributions. David Teeger (2/15) and Lesedi Shole (2/15) was the pick of King Edward VII’s bowling attack.

Helpies defeated St David’s Marist by six wickets in the other semi-final. It was two allround performances by Henricus Meyer and Tjaart Mentz that helped their side into the final.

St David’s were restricted to 95/8 in their allotted 20 overs with Tjaart Mentz (2/7) and Henricus Meyer (2/26) causing most of the damage. Henno Steyn (2/12) also troubled the batsmen from St Davids.

Meyer (34*) and Mentz (30) also got their team past the target with their batting contributions.

It is the first time in the history of the Johnny Waite Knockout competition that Helpmekaar has qualified for the final. To top it all off their u16 side will face King Edward VII in the age-group final.

Summarised Scorecards: 

Jeppe High School for Boys 101 (Tsepho Stafa 25, Jaydon Brooker 25; David Teeger 2/15, Lesedi Shole 2/15, Cameron Smith 2/16, Callum Ritchie 2/21); King Edward VII 80 (Jordan Smith 17, Rowan Kourie 17; Ryan Harcourt-Baldwin 4/12, Luke Cannon 3/14). Jeppe High School for Boys won by 21 runs.

St David’s Marist 95/8 (Matthew West 29, Gomolemo Phiri 22; Tjaart Mentz 2/7, Henno Steyn 2/12, Henricus Meyer 2/26); Helpmekaar-kollege 97/4 (Henricus Meyer 34*, Tjaart Mentz 30, Kyle Swanepoel 22; Gomolemo Phiri 2/14, Boago Gaoraelwe 2/20). Helpmekaar-kollege won by six wickets.

Article by Zane Louw and Hannes Nienaber

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.