SuperSport Schools Plus

Jeppe crowned Johnny Waite Knockout champions for the first time since 1989

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2023-03-01 Tags: ,

PHOTO: Theo Garrun

Jeppe High School for Boys is the new Johnny Waite Knockout champions after defeating Helpmekaar-kollege yesterday by 69 runs in the final.

It was only the second Johnny Waite-title that Jeppe bagged since their first which was won back in 1989. It was also Jeppe’s first appearance in the final of the prestigious competition since 2003.

It was Helpmekaar’s first appearance in the final of the competition.

Back in 1989 Jeppe defeated St John’s College in the final with probably one of South Africa’s best cricket umpires ever Cyril Mitchley as the coach. Jeppe’s resident cricket professional, Roland Blanks, was also part of the victorious team of 1989.

Jeppe got off to a superb start in the final against Helpmekaar thanks to a 99-run opening partnership between Tshepo Stafa (53, 35b) and Kyle Jackson (48, 35b).
Jayden Brooker (23) also added a valuable 23 runs to help the champions reach 153/7 in their allotted overs.
Helpies was bowled out for 84 runs with Luke Cannon (2/7), Sipho Potsane (2/8), Ryan Hartcourt-Baldwin (2/11) and Stafa (2/14) all troubling the batsmen. Hartcourt-Baldwin was the hero in the semi-final victory over King Edward VII as he picked up a hat-trick of wickets.
Stafa was named Player of the Match for his performances with the bat and ball.
Jeppe’s second stringers also came out on top in their final to bag a unique double.

Summarised Scorecard: 

Jeppe High School for Boys 153/7 (Tshepo Stafa 53, Kyle Jackson 48, Jayden Brooker 23; Tjaart Mentz 2/40); Helpmekaar-kollege 84 (Henricus Meyer 30; Luke Cannon 2/7, Sipho Potsane 2/8, Ryan Hartcourt-Baldwin 2/11, Tshepo Stafa 2/14, Jayden Brooker 2/21). Jeppe High School for Boys won by 69 runs.

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.