SuperSport Schools Plus

South African Schools’ Cricket Captains (1940-2020)

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2013-12-12 Tags:

The South African schools’ cricket team was first chosen in 1940 at the conclusion of the inaugural Nuffield Week held in Durban. The tournament was known as the Nuffield Week until 1993 when its name changed to Coca-Cola Week. In 2001 it was renamed to the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week.

The tournament was held each year except between 1943 and 1945 for World War II, while 1955 was cancelled due to a polio outbreak. No tournament was also held in 1971. In 1970 and 1976 there were two tournaments held.

This list was compiled by Hannes Nienaber – with the help of brochures from the tournament. If you have any additional info you like to add please feel free to send Hannes an e-mail at

792022Juan JamesWestern Province – Wynberg Boys’ High
782021Schalk EngelbrechtTitans – Affies
2020No tournamentDue to Covid-19 pandemic
772019Luke BeaufortEastern Province – Grey High School
762018Gerald CoetzeeFree State – St Andrews
752017Wandile MakwetuGauteng – St Stithians College
742016Wiaan MulderGauteng – St Stithians College
732015Tony de ZorziGauteng – King Edward VII
722014Matthew ChristensenWestern Province – Rondebosch Boys’ High
712013Yaseen ValliGauteng – King Edward VII
702012Diego RosierGriqualand West – Noord-Kaap
692011Prenelan SubrayenKwaZulu-Natal – Glenwood
682010Keagan RaffertyFree State – St. Andrews
672009Josh RichardsNortherns – St. Alban’s College
662008Dale DeebGauteng – Trinityhouse
652007Wayne ParnellEastern Province – Grey Boys’ High School
642006Jonathan VandiarKwaZulu-Natal – Durban High School
632005Dean ElgarFree State – St. Dominic’s College
622004Francois le ClusNortherns – Affies
612003Divan van WykFree State – Grey College
602002Riël de KockFree State – Grey College
592001Imraan KhanKwaZulu-Natal – Durban High School
582000 Johan BothaEastern Province – Grey Boys’ High School
571999 Jacques RudolphNorth Gauteng – Affies
561998 Thami TsolekileWestern Province – Pinelands
551997 Brett TuckerGauteng – St. John’s College
541996 Philip HearleTransvaal – St. Stithian’s College
531995 Douglas GainNatal – Hilton College
521994 Neil McKenzieTransvaal – King Edward VII
511993 André VolsteedtFree State – Grey College
501992 Dale BenkensteinNatal – Michaelhouse
491991 Nicky BojéFree State – Grey College
481990 Ian JeffreyTransvaal – King Edward VII
471989 Ian SolomonDiocesan College – Western Province
461988 Derek CrookesNatal – Hilton College
451987Hansie CronjéFree State – Grey College
441986Peter EmslieEastern Province – Graeme College
431985 Gary KirstenWestern Province – Rondebosch Boys’ High
421984 Daryll CullinanBorder – Queen’s College
411983Mark RushmereEastern Province – Woodridge College
401982Mark RushmereEastern Province – Woodridge College
391981CJ BenadieTransvaal – St. Stithian’s College
381980Joubert StrydomFree State – Grey College
371979KP TessendorfBorder – Queen’s College
361978Roy PienaarTransvaal – St. Stithian’s College
351977Adrian KuiperDiocesan College – Western Province
341976John DuringWestern Province – Rondebosch Boys’ High
331976Kepler WesselsFree State – Grey College
321975Lee BarnardTransvaal – King Edward VII
311974Lee BarnardTransvaal – King Edward VII
301973C MiddletonTransvaal – Potchefstroom Volkskool
291972Michael MathewsRhodesia – Prince Edward
1971No tournament
281970Ken McEwanBorder – Queen’s College
271970DS RawlingsRhodesia – Prince Edward
261969Michael MadsenNatal – Glenwood
251968Ronald CollinsNatal – Michaelhouse
241967Gerald KatzNatal – Maritzburg College
231966Hylton AckermanBorder – Dale College
221965Hylton AckermanBorder – Dale College
211964Barry RichardsNatal – Durban High School
201963Lee IrvineNatal – Durban High School
 191962Ravenor NicholsonNatal – Michaelhouse
181961Graeme PollockEastern Province – Grey High School
171960Nicolas FrangosRhodesia – Prince Edward
161959John McPhunBorder – Queen’s College
151958Peter CarlsteinFree State – St. Andrews
141957Peter MuzzellBorder – Queen’s College
131956Terry BarwellWestern Province – Rondebosch Boys’ High
1955No tournament held due to the polio outbreak
121954WE PatrickTransvaal – St. John’s College
111953David FernleyWestern Province – Diocesan College
101952Robert WightmanWestern Province – Diocesan College
91951Gerald InnesWestern Province – Diocesan College
81950Gerald InnesWestern Province – Diocesan College
71949John FerrandiWestern Province – Diocesan College
61948Jackie McGlewNatal – Maritzburg College
51947Derek KingNatal – Durban High School
41946Clive van RyneveldWestern Province – Diocesan College
31942John WatkinsNatal – Glenwood
21941Norman NupenTransvaal – King Edward VII
11940Douglas OvenstoneWestern Province – Diocesan College
Hannes Nienaber