SuperSport Schools Plus


BOYS: SA Schools hockey sides for 2023 announced

By Hannes Nienaber , in Hockey | News , at 2023-07-01

PHOTO: Theo Garrun

No less than seven players from the champions of the SASHOC u18 Boys’ tournament in Bloemfontein, Western Province, was selected for the South African u18 hockey side.

Six of the seven boys selected for the team are from SACS – Rogan Stirk, Michael Cowen, Josh Opperman, Ozai Pillai, Liam Haupt and Michael Royden-Turner. The seventh WP respresentative in the national side is Caleb Ferreira from Curro Durbanville.

Western Province defeated Southern Gauteng by 3-1 in the final of the tournament. Jaydon Brooker from Southerns was named the Player of the Tournament for his impressive performances during the tournament. The midfielder from Jeppe High School for Boys’ also finished the tournament as the top goal scorer by scoring his 11th in the final against Western Province.

The award for the Midfielder of the Tournament also naturally went to the very talented Brooker.

Stirk was named the Goalkeeper of the Tournament, while his captain, Michael Cowen, awarded the Defender of the Tournament accolade. Royden-Turner received the award as the Striker of the Tournament.

The teams: 

SA u18: Keelan Henry (KZN), Rogan Stirk (Western Province), Lethabo Bogacwi (KZN Coastal), Caleb Ferreira (Western Province), Michael Cowen (Western Province), Jaydon Brooker (Southern Gauteng), Rearden Dicken (KZN Inland), Lerup Dithlakanyane (KZN Coastal), Zeke Hougaard (Boland), Akha Mda (KZN Inland), Matthew Mendes-De Oliveira (KZN Coastal), Josh Opperman (Western Province), Ozair Pillai (Western Province), Taine Tanner-Ellis (Southern Gauteng), Liam Haupt (Western Province), Kearabetswe Khoele (KZN Inland), Michael Royden-Turner (Western Province), Reuben Sendzul (Boland).

SA u17: Nicholas Holmes (KZN Inland), Joshua Renders (Southern Gauteng), Grant Bridgeford (KZN Inland), Dayle Gertson (Western Province), Joshua Smit (Boland), Ryan Williams (Boland), Robert Veldtman (Western Province), Ruard Booysen (Northern Gauteng), Barend Geldenhuys (Boland), Tre Gilbert (Amathole), James Grieve (Western Province), Jarred Kitto (KZN Inland), Matthew Temmis (Boland), Lumi Matwele (KZN Coastal), Boipelo Koloti (Southern Gauteng), Ethan Lee (Western Province), Joshua Mettler (Western Province), Devin Wax (Southern Gauteng).

SA u18 B: Tshedza Rasalanavho (Southern Gauteng), Nkosiyethu Shozi (KZN Inland), Tom Chalmers (Southern Gauteng), Nicholas Chantler (KZN Inland), Jake Downie (Boland), Luca Miller (Western Province), Kyle Thomas (KZN Coastal), Ben van der Merwe (Amathole), David Baxter (Northern Gauteng), Roan Janse van Rensburg (Southern Free State), Connor McKenzie (KZN Coastals), Sibusiso Mxube (Eastern Province), Micah Sonn (Northern Gauteng), Dean Carrick (Western Province), Miguel de Jesus (Southern Gauteng), Aldrigde Maasdorp (KZN Coastals), Caleb Ryland (KZN Inland), Keabetswe Seome (Southern Gauteng).

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.