SuperSport Schools Plus


SA Schools and Colts sides for 2018 announced

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2018-12-20

NewsGVictorMpitsangThe most experienced player named in the South African Schools’ cricket side, Gerald Coetzee, will captain the national schools’ side against the SA Colts at PPC Newlands in Cape Town. Coetzee is only the third player from St Andrews in Bloemfontein to have the honour of leading the SA Schools’ side.
His predecessors being Peter Carlstein (1958) and Keagan Rafferty (2010).
Glenwood High School of Durban has with two players, Thamsanqa Khumalo and Lefa Ntanzi, the biggest representation in the national schools’ side. The prestigious award for the Cricket of the Week went to Bryce Parsons of King Edward VII. Parsons is still in grade 11.
Interesting is that the last time the tournament was held in Cape Town back in 2011 this award also went to a grade 11 pupil by the name of Diego Rosier of Griqualand West.
Two players who made the SA Schools last year, Jacob Miltz and Mondli Khumalo, missed out on selection this year. Miltz didn’t even crack a place in the SA Colts side, while Khumalo managed to receive a consolation price with a place in the Colt-side.
The luckiest player to be selected must be Thando Ntini who cracked a spot in the SA Schools’ side. He only managed to grab three wickets at an average of 34 runs per victim. He scored 67 runs at an average of 16.8 runs with the bat during the week. Ntini is the son of former Protea fast bowler, Makhaya Ntini.
North West’s Marco Jansen was named as the Allrounder of the Week, but missed out on a place in the national schools’ side. He however did get a nod for the SA Colt-side.
The teams are: 
SA Schools: Gerald Coetzee (St Andrews – Free State, captain), Jonathan Bird (Diocesan College, Western Province), Achille Cloete (Paarl Boys’ High, Boland), Thamsanqa Khumalo (Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal), Kgaudise Molefe (Jeppe High School for Boys’), Lefa Ntanzi (Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal), Thando Ntini (Wynberg Boys’ High, Western Province), Bryce Parsons (King Edward VII, Gauteng), Caleb Pillay (Westville Boys’ High, KwaZulu-Natal), Cameron Shekleton (St Stithians College, Gauteng), Tristan Stubbs (Grey High School, Eastern Province), Nonelela Yika (Hudson Park, Border).
SA Colts: James Ritchie (Hilton College, KwaZulu-Natal – captain), Ruan Cronjé (St Andrews, Free State), Dian Forrester (Affies, Northerns), Justin Gilliland (Newlands Cricket School, Western Province), Marco Jansen (Potchefstroom Gimnasium, North West), Mondli Khumalo (Maritzburg College, KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Bonga Makaku (Newlands Cricket School, Western Province), Akeem Minnaar (Klein Nederburg, Boland), Emmanuel Motswiri (Maragon Ruimsig, Gauteng), Siya Plaatjie (Wynberg Boys’ High, Western Province), Gareth Schreuder (Hilton College, KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Tumelo Yeki (Queen’s High).
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.