SuperSport Schools Plus

Province favourites as teams roll out squads for IPT

By Avuyile Sawula , in Water Sports | News , at 2023-11-08 Tags: ,

The Western Province U19 team will go into this year’s Water Polo Inter-provincial Tournament (IPT) as the favourites to win the title when the showpiece commences next month at Grey High School in Gqeberha.

Their fierce rivals, Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal, have also named strong sides for the spectacle, raising excitement about the forthcoming matchups which will bring together the most exciting talent in the school ranks in South Africa.

South African College High School (SACS) from Cape Town dominates the Western Province A-Team. They have six players in the line-up whose superb form helped SACS capture a hat-trick of prestigious titles in the latter part of the season.

Much will be expected of one of their standard-setters, Nicholas Fall, who has been a terror in front of goal for the Cape Town school.

He picked up the Forward of the Tournament accolade in last month’s St Stithians Water Polo Invitational, after leading his side to a 7-6 win over St John’s College in the final.

The rest of the SACS representatives are Noah Bigara, Thomas Wiltshire, Zack Cicero, Richard Skeeles, and Conor Melling-Williams.

Paul Roos, the second-best team in the Western Cape, with a legitimate claim to being number two in South Africa, also, have four players – Adam October, Maximilian Mossop, Johannes Reyneke, and Arkin Marais – who will make the trip to Gqeberha.

Twice during the end of year action, they were edged out by SACS for big titles. At the Clifton Water Polo Tournament, SACS won the final 7-6, and then, at the Hussar Grill SACS Water Polo Tournament, the hosts claimed a 6-3 win to secure the silverware.

Rondebosch Boys’ High contributes three players to the squad – David van Zyl, Ethan Klerck and Ben Reiback – while the remaining place goes to goalkeeper Jordan De Sousa of Bishops, who was named in the Team of the Tournament at the Saints Water Polo Invitational.

Paul Roos dominates the Province B team, with five of their players in the line-up. Rondebosch had four players selected, Bishops and Wynberg Boys High two each, while Mac Lecuona is the only SACS player in the squad.

The tournament splashes into action on the 9th of December and concludes with the final on Wednesday, the 13th of December.

The Teams


David Van Zyl (Rondebosch), Noah Bigara (SACS), Thomas Wiltshire (SACS), Adam October (Paul Roos), Nicholas Fall (SACS), Zack Cicero (SACS), Maximilian Mossop (Paul Roos), Ethan Klerck (Rondebosch), Johannes Reyneke (Paul Roos), Ben Reiback (Rondebosch) Richard Skeeles (SACS), Arkin Marais (Paul Roos), Jordan De Sousa (Bishops), Conor Melling-Williams (SACS)

Head coach: Jabulani Sibiya

Team Manager: Travis Theron


Pierre du Plessis (Rondebosch), Matthew de Villiers, (Rondebosch), Bradley Warneke (Rondebosch), Liyam Middleton (Wynberg Boys) Sebastiaan White (Rondebosch) Salahuddin Khan (Paul Roos), Aden da Costa (Wynberg Boys) Thomas Truter (Bishops) Mac Lecuona (SACS), Ross Stewart (Bishops), Cosmo Enthoven (Paul Roos), Juan-Paul Germishuis (Paul Roos), Nicholas Ward (Paul Roos), Paul Enthoven (Paul Roos).

Head coach: Dylan Riddle

Manager: Travis Theron

Avuyile Sawula
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.