SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Rugby Logo

Preview – SACS vs. Boland Landbou

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2013-04-11 Tags: ,

The South African College High School play host to the farmers from Wellington, Boland Landbou, on Saturday in the first round of Western Cape Schools Rugby fixtures. Boland will go into the game as overwhelming favourites given that SACS have not beaten them for over a decade.

Boland Landbou chose to attend the highly competitive Kearsney Easter Festival and lost two of their three games but the high quality of rugby will give them a huge head start going into Saturday’s game. The intensity of rugby they played in defeats to Grey College and Kearsney, arguably the top team in KZN this year, will have been massive and will give them a definite advantage. Their massive pack and slick backs, if they combine effectively, could be a potent mix and any team that takes the Bolanders for granted this year will pay a high price. Up front their huge tighthead Matthys Basson will take some stopping while their halfbacks Dylan Snell and Tian Nel will expertly direct proceedings.

 SACS have had a slow start to the season as they have a completely new team and some early season injuries to boot. The team gelled well and improved with every outing at the St. Stithians Festival but is still very much work-in-progress. They are going to have to hit the ground running on Saturday though as there is no place to hide and there can be no excuses in the tough Western Province league. It’s up to the city boys to man-up and match the physicality of the farmers.

As ever discipline will be paramount for the hosts as the Boland kickers are renowned for their accuracy from long range. It’s going to take a monumental team effort from SACS to stop their much-vaunted opposition but in in-form lock Dean Basson will no doubt do his best to inspire his teammates.


The teams:


SACS: 15 Seb Roodt, 14 Damian Rawstorne, 13 Richard Rodgers, 12 Keagan Wheeler (captain), 11 Matthew Wadling, 10 Shane Fourie, 9 Michael Henning, 8 Justin Williams, 7 Jason Labuschagne, 6 Yandisa Maquekana, 5 Justin Joubert, 4 Dean Basson, 3 Wesley Futter, 2 Struan Murray, 1 Joel MacQuene.


Boland Landbou: 15 Danrich Visagie, 14 Henno Meyer, 13 Walmar de Wet, 12 Adriaan Louw, 11 Pieter Goliath, 10 Tian Nel, 9 Dylan Snell, 8 Luan Bantjes, 7 Wiaan vd Merwe, 6 Renier Wepener (captein), 5 SJ Roux, 4 Philip Nel, 3 Matthys Basson, 2 Hugo Vlok 1 Riaan Sutherland.


Venue: Memorial A-Field (SACS)

Kickoff: 12:45
Referee: Daniel Fortuin (WP)

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.