SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Rugby Logo

Van Wyk and Malherbe to coach Free State U18’s

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2008-02-06 Tags:

DEON VAN WYK (Sentraal) and Schalk Malherbe (Jim Fouché) will coach the Free State under 18-side at this year’s Coca Cola Cravenweek that will be held at Affies in Pretoria. The Free State High School’s Rugby Association’s executive committee made the suggestion to appoint the two experienced coaches.

“I’m trust that they will do very well with the team,” said Johan Vorster, chairman of the Free State High School’s Rugby Association. The Free State’s team did exceptionally well at last year’s Coca Cola Cravenweek held at Paul Roos Gymnasium in Stellenbosch. The team was coached by Jaco Swanepoel (Grey College) and Gonval Store (President Steyn). Swanepoel accepted the job as the head coach of the University of the Free State’s first team the Shimlas. “Jaco is the best coach at schoolboy level in the country and his loss is a great one to us and school’s rugby in the country,” said Vorster.

Store who helped out last year after Pieter Swanepoel (Brandfort) had to withdraw as coach of the Coca Cola Cravenweek team also made himself unavailable to coach the team again this year. Swanepoel also decided due to his health to withdraw from the race.  

Dries van der Wal who coached Grey College’s first team for quite a couple of years with coach the team once again in 2008. Rudolph Brits of Fichardtpark will leave the education fraternity and already resigned as administartive secretary of the Free State High School’s Rugby Association. “Rudolph’s resignation are also a huge blow for us,” said Vorster.    

Jimmy Jimlongwe will be the Free State’s team manager at the tournament in Pretoria. The Free State Academy team will be coached by Paul Spies (Louis Botha) en Raymond Titus (Heatherdale). Deon Rodgers will be the team manager.

The three rugby schools of Heidedal – Heatherdale, Dr. Blok and Petunia, will form a combined team which will be known as the Stallions. There were also talk that Sand du Plessis, Dr. Böhmer, Dr. Viljoen and Castlebridge will also combine to form a team. Sand du Plessis will however compete on their on own in the league, while the other three will form a combined XV.

By Hannes Nienaber

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.