SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

ICC u19 Cricket World Cup moved to South Africa

By Brad Morgan , in Cricket | Featured Cricket | News , at 2023-11-21

The 2024 ICC u19 Cricket World Cup, which had been scheduled to be hosted by Sri Lanka from 13 January to 4 February, was on Tuesday awarded to South Africa after the International Cricket Council suspended the Sri Lanka Cricket Board.

This follows allegations of government interference in the running of the federation. No longer will the island nation be the hosts of the u19 event, but their teams are, however, allowed to continue to compete internationally.

Commenting on the change of venue, in Colombo, Sri Lankan Cricket Board Assistant Secretary Krisantha Kapuwatte told reporters: “This decision is something that makes the entire nation sad.”

South Africa hosted the ICC u19 Cricket World Cup for a second time in 2020. It had previously welcomed the world’s best u19 players in 1998, when the event expanded to 16 finalists for the first time.

At the 2020 event, South Africa finished only eighth on home soil, with Bangladesh beating India by three wickets in the final to win the title for a first time.

That South African team included Gerald Coetzee, who was recently named in the Team of the Tournament, along with Quinton de Kock, at the conclusion of the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. Coetzee, when he was in grade 11, had made the Team of the Tournament at the 2018 u19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand, but struggled with injury in 2020.

South Africa has won the u19 Cricket World Cup once previously. In 2014, the team, captained by Aiden Markram, who was named the Man of the Series, took the title after a six-wicket victory over Pakistan in the final.

That side also included Kagiso Rabada and Andile Phehlukwayo, who both did duty at the recent World Cup in India.

The u19 Cricket World Cup is held biennially. India which, remarkably, has never hosted the event, despite it being held 14 times, has won the most titles, with five victories.

Australia has been crowned the champions on three occasions, while Pakistan has twice taken the honours. Along with South Africa and Bangladesh, England and the West Indies have won the u19 Cricket World Cup once each.

India is the defending champion, having beaten England by four wickets in the 2022 final, played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua.

The provisional South African squad for the 2024 u19 Cricket World Cup was announced on 10 November:

David Teeger (captain, Lions), Esosa Aihevba (Lions), Adam Cannata (Titans), Bennie Hansen (Western Province), Juan James (Western Province), Martin Khumalo (Easterns), Kwena Maphaka (Lions), Dewan Marais (Easterns), Riley Norton (Boland), Nqobani Mokoena (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Romashan Pillay (KwaZula-Natal Coastal), Sipho Potsane (Lions), Lhuan-dré Pretorius (Lions), Richard Seletswane (Lions), Juan Steyn (Easterns), Oliver Whitehead (Western Province), Steve Stolk (Titans), and Ntando Zuma (KwaZulu-Natal Inland).


Malibongwe Maketa (Head Coach), Blanche Conradie (Team Manager), Thabang Kumalo (Fielding Coach), Justin Sammons (Batting Coach), Paul Adams (Bowling Coach), Curtly Diesel (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Salih Solomon (Team Doctor), Sheenagh Jordaan (Physiotherapist) and Kyle Southgate (Performance Analyst).

Brad Morgan
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.