SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Plus Hockey Logo

GIRLS: SA Schools hockey sides for 2023 announced

By Hannes Nienaber , in Hockey | News , at 2023-07-01


Three teams – Southern Free State, Southern Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal Coastals have three representatives each in the South African u18-side that was named at the conclusion of the annual SASHOC u18 Girls’ tournament hosted in Bloemfontein.

Southern Free State was crowned the champions of the tournament after defeating Boland by 3-2 in the final on Friday. The champions’ captain, Taheera Augousti, was unsurprisingly named the Player of the Tournament. She was also the top goalscorer in Bloemfontein.

Augousti also helped the national u21-side to be crowned Africa Junior champions earlier this year. A tournament in which she was also named the Player of the Tournament. She also received this accolade at the conclusion of the annual St Mary’s Hockey Festival in Johannesburg earlier this year.

The other two players from Southern Free State to make the national u18-side were Germarie Spershott and Lilly-Anne Theron. Spershott was named the Defender of the Tournament, while Theron received the award as the Goalkeeper of the Tournament.

KZN Coastal’s three representatives were Tara Pakendorf, Georgia Pollock and Emily Macquet. Pollock is the daughter of former Protea cricket captain Shaun Pollock.

The three representatives from Southern Gauteng to make the the national side are Hannah White, Paris-Gail Isaacs and Reabetswe Phumi.

Boland’s Baylee Engelke received the award as the Midfielder of the Tournament, while teammate Arisha van Niekerk was the Striker of the Tournament.

SA u18: Taheera Augousti (Southern Free State), Nuriyah Bell (Eastern Province), Jodie Blows (Western Province), Baylee Engelke (Boland), Kaylin Hendriks (Amathole), Paris-Gail Isaacs (Southern Gauteng), Emily Macquet (KZN Coastals), Mmamorena Manthaha (Northern Gauteng), Mlangeni Nolizwi (Mpumalanga), Tara Pakendorf (KZN Coastals), Reabetswe Phumi (Southern Gauteng), Georgia Pollock (KZN Coastals), Germarie Spershott (Southern Free State), Lily-Anne Theron (Southern Free State), Arisha van Niekerk (Boland), Angele Vogel (Northern Gauteng), Hannah White (Southern Gauteng), Kelly Wilson (KZN Inland).

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.