SuperSport Schools Plus

Gauteng and WP to meet in main match for fourth year in a row

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2015-12-20

NewsG Joel Veeran Gauteng and Western Province will meet each other for the fourth successive year in the main match of the annual Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week at St. Georges Park in Port Elizabeth tomorrow.

In the three previous main matches the team who batted first came out on top each time. Gauteng won the main game in 2013 and 2014, while Western Province secured victory in 2012 in Potchefstroom. These two teams are also the only unbeaten sides going into the last day of the tournament.

Gauteng didn’t experience too much trouble in beating Mpumalanga by 104 runs in their encounter on the fourth day. While Western Province had to work a bit harder to defeat KwaZulu-Natal by four wickets.

Northerns’ wicketkeeper, Rubin Hermann (126*), helped his team to a convincing victory of nine wickets with his unbeaten century against KwaZulu-Natal. He also finished the match off in style as he struck a six from the bowling of KwaZulu-Natal’s captain, Tyron Koen, to take his team past the target.

Hermann faced 119 deliveries in his innings of which he dispatched 19 to the boundary. Five of these boundaries were maximums. He and Joshua van Heerden (51*) shared an unbeaten partnership of 169 runs over the second wicket.

Boland’s spin bowler Luke Philander picked up a five-wicket haul for the second time during the tournament in his side’s match against North West. With Philander (5/12) leading the onslaught North West was restricted to only 62 runs.

South Western Districts’ Todd Walker produced an allround performance of note against Border. Firs he hit an unbeaten 87 runs which helped his side reach 271/5 in their allotted 50 overs. He then also got rid of six batsmen for a mere 24 runs for the best bowling performance of this year’s Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week thus far.

Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs):

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 169 (Bryce Tullis 37, Jean de Wet 36; Dayyaan Galiem 4/31, Ryan Klein 4/36); Western Province 170/6 (Gavin Kaplan 63, Siphamandla Mavanda 34; Lethu Mthembu 2/12, Eathan Bosch 2/21). Western Province won by four wickets.

Gauteng 227/6 (Farhaan Sayanvala 47*, Ricardo Vasconcelos 47; Grant Truter 2/22); Mpumalanga 123 (Irfaan Hoosen 24; Conor McKerr 3/25). Gauteng won by 104 runs.

Eastern Province 208/8 (Matthew Breetzke 47, Liam Lindsay 41; Sean Whitehead 2/18); Free State 159 (Niel Durow 36, Sean Whitehead 30, Marno van Greuning 30; Jonathan Draai 2/12). Eastern Province won by 49 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal 203/9 (Joel Veeran 53, Tyron Koen 37; Luvuyo Nkese 2/18); Northerns 205/1 (Rubin Hermann 126*, Joshua van Heerden 51*). Northerns won by nine wickets.

Boland 192 (Fenito Mehl 57, Hannes Venter 47, Phumzu Mntungwa 35*; Ruan Haasbroek 2/10); North West 62 (Lesego Senokwane 24; Luke Philander 5/12, Milton Mackier 2/12). Boland won by 130 runs.

South Western Districts 271/5 (Todd Walker 87*, Richard Papenfus 43, Levin Muller 39; Athenkosi Mfazwe 2/64); Border 183 (Malwande Zamo 38; Todd Walker 6/24). South Western Districts won by 88 runs.

Easterns 249/9 (Vyasan Govenden 87, Kabelo Sekhukhune 82; Francois Rautenbach 4/68); Namibia 57 (Extras 10; David Zweni 4/6, Wilber van Dyk 3/9, Christmas Mpenyane 3/20). Easterns won by 192 runs.

Limpopo 219 (Tumisang Letsoalo 51, Morné Venter 38; Hannes Jacobs 3/17); Northern Cape 186 (Roché Rossouw 59, Hannes Jacobs 39; Sahil Patel 3/20, Asad Patel 3/26). Limpopo won by 33 runs.

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.