SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Rugby Logo

Preview – Vereeniging HS vs. Dr. Malan

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2010-05-06

On Saturday, down south from Johannesburg Hoerskool Vereeniging play Hoerskool Dr Malan of Meyerton in Vereeniging in an FNB Classic Clash.

The two schools are about 15 kilometres apart, and so are rivals at more than just rugby.

Both fall within the Valke and of the two Dokkies are regarded as the strongest team in the old Vaal Triangle, now a part of the Valke, who used to be Eastern Transvaal then the Falcons.

In 2009 the Dokkies won 63-3, in 2010 they triumphed 23-11 and last year they won by 8-0, which suggests that the Rainbow are getting closer.

In, fact the signs are that this year Vereeniging will beat Dr Malan and do so comfortable. When they met earlier in the season Rainbow won 33-12. They then went off on a tour to the Western Cape and have played the strong Duineveld side from Upington.

They have played two common opponents:
Benoni High: Vereeniging lost 14-11, Dr Malan lost 27-8
Hans Moore: Vereeniging drew 20-20; Dr Malan lost 41-5

In the Rainbow side is hooker Deon Stolts who went to the Craven Week for the Valke last year and has been chosen to go again this year. Flank Joswin de Wee, eighthman John Maisi and fullback Jacqone de Villiers are also down to go to Craven Week.

Dokkies have two back from last year’s Classic Clash, Rainbow seven. Back for Dokkies are flyhalf Anthony Harvard and flank Marco Naudé. Those back for Hoërskool Vereeniging are wing Shaun Heiberg, who played fullback last year, outside centre Dewaldt Grewe, flyhalf Morné Terblanche, scrumhalf Bernard Louw, flank Johann Fourie, prop Jaco Wiese and hooker Deon Stoltz who was the captain last year as well. That suggests a distinct advantage for the Vereeniging side.

The teams:

Hoërskool Vereeniging: 15 Jacqone de Villiers, 14 Shaun Heiberg, 13 Dewald Grewe, 12 Wildri Roodt, 11 Eldron van Rooyen, 10 Morné Terblanche, 9 Bernard Louw, 8 John Maisi, 7 Joswin de Wee, 6 GE Pretorius, 5 Johann Fourie, 4 André du Plessis, 3 Carlo van Onselen, 2 Deon Stoltz (captain), 1 Jaco Wiese.
Replacements: 16 Kobus Muller, 17 Gian Bezuidenhout, 18 Jan Janse van Rensburg, 19 Ruan Combrink, 20 Rikus van Rensburg, 21 Brendon van Deventer, 22 Maree Verhoef, 23 Wally Ungerer.

Coaches: André Botha, Manfred Smit

Dr Malan: 15 Michael Bosman, 14 Frikkie Venter, 13 Ferdi Swart, 12 Desmond Koen, 11 Theo Geldenhuys, 10 Anthony Harvard, 9 Rhyno Hendman, 8 Gerhard van Rensburg (captain), 7 Marco Naudé, 6 Hansie Erke, 5 C Janse van Rensburg, 4 Christiaan Nolte, 3 Johan van der Watt, 2 Ruan van der Walt, 1 Tiaan Naudé.
Replacements: 16 Morne van der Sandt, 17 Lukas Steyn, 18 Johan Burger, 19 Leandré Ebersonn, 20 Richard Dean van Deventer, 21 Meyer Le Maistre, 22 Ruan Wessels, 23 PG vcan der Merwe.
* The Dr Malan names my well be inaccurate. They arrived late and written by hand, which was hard to decypher. We did ask for help.

Coach: Louw Neethling

Date: 2 June, 2012
Kick-off: 12.00
Venue: Hoërskool Vereeniging
Expected weather conditions: Sunny with a high of 21°C, dropping to 6°C



Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.