SuperSport Schools Plus

Durbanville clinches thrilling title-decider against Stellenberg

By Willem Louw , in Cricket | Featured Cricket | News , at 2024-03-10 Tags: ,

Hoërskool Durbanville 1st XI (Photo provided)

The WPNS league final lived up to all the expectations on Saturday as Hoërskool Durbanville concluded their season’s trilogy against Stellenberg with a nail-biting nine-run victory away from home to claim their second trophy in as many weeks.

Watch the match again on SuperSport Schools – Register now Link to the game

Stellenberg won the first match when they faced each other in an inter-school clash before Durbies hit back in the Sammy Bloch final last week. Both of those encounters were decided by fewer than 15 runs, so expectations were sky-high for another thriller when they squared off for a third time to battle for the league crown.

Batting first, on Saturday, the Durbies post 182/9 in their 50 overs. Tobias Roelofse led their charge with an innings of 48 runs off 52 deliveries, which included two sixes and a four, and which helped Durbanville into three figures before Arno Koen bowled him.

Before Roelofse stepped to the crease, Durbanville had found run-scoring tough in the face of an accurate attack by Koen and the rest of the Stellenberg bowlers.

Kyle van Santen was in fine form. He snared four Durbie batsmen in his 10 overs before contributing a solid 32 runs with the bat later on.

Lohann Pretorius and Jan Jak Alberts assisted in restraining the visitors, bowling ten overs each and conceding only 55 runs between them, but it was Van Santen (4/39), Koen (3/23) and JJ Rothman (2/38) who made inroads into the Durbanville lineup.

Replying, the home side’s top order started with a bang, with Koen and Ethan Vermeulen both scoring 44 runs. Then, Van Santen’s 32 helped them to 150/5.

Stellenberg looked on course for victory, but Roelofse wrestled back control of the game for Durbanville. They had to work hard and be patient, however. Yiva Dwaleni and Koen put on 67 for the first wicket before Dwaleni was run out and Koen met his end at the hands of Jan Oscar van Tonder.

The Durbies’ fielding was on point and proved decisive. They ran out four Stellenberg batsmen as they frantically attempted to get over the line in the final overs.

Still, the game was on a knife’s edge to the very end. With two overs remaining, and Stellenberg on 166/6, they appeared poised to secure the victory, but the Durbanville attack kept at the batsmen and were able to end the hosts’ innings on the second ball of the final over.

Xander van Aarde and Jan Kriel, aided by superb fielding, caused the late collapse and Durbanville captured the league honours.


Hoërskool Durbanville 182/9 (Tobias Roelofse 48, Jan Kriel 29, Xander van Aarde 23; Kyle van Santen 4/39, Arno Koen 3/23, JJ Rothman 2/38); Stellenberg 173 (Arno Koen 44, Ethan Vermeulen 44, Kyle van Santen 32; Tobias Roelofse 2/29, Jan Kriel 2/36). Hoërskool Durbanville won by nine runs.

Willem Louw
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.