SuperSport Schools Plus

CSA Cubs Week teams announced for 2022

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2021-12-29 Tags:

TL 1720231The annual Cricket South Africa’s Cubs Week of 2022 already has champions on board. Since the last Cubs Week in Stellenbosch back in January 2021, CSA has announced a new domestic structure and the franchise system has been dissolved.

Therefore, the franchise teams that attended the annual Cubs Week since the inaugural tournament back in 2009 also received a face-lift. One of the new names is the Northern Champions (formerly the Titans).

The Northern Champions consists of players chosen from the Titans (formerly Northerns), Easterns, and Limpopo. The other new names for the teams are the Central Gladiators, Coastal Conquerors, Eastern Warriors, Southern Superstars, and the Western Legends.

The Central Gladiators were formerly known as the Lions. They are consisting of players from Gauteng and Mpumalanga. In the past, they have also utilised the services of players from North West, but the latter has joined forces with the Western Legends under the new structure.

The Legends’ other unions are the Free State and Northern Cape. The move to make North West part of this region has without a doubt strengthened the team as well as given more opportunities to quality players within the system.

The Coastal Conquerors were formerly known as the Dolphins and consists of KwaZulu-Natal and KwaZulu-Natal Inland. The Eastern Warriors were known as the Warriors and the team is still chosen from the best Eastern Province and Border has to offer.

The Southern Superstars were formerly known as the Cape Cobras and the region consists of Western Province, Boland, and South Western Districts.

The Cubs Week will take place from 10 to 14 January 2022 in Stellenbosch.

The teams:

Central Gladiators: Nkanyiso Mkhize (Gauteng), Christopher King (Gauteng), Zack Momberg (Gauteng), Talha Chavoos (Gauteng), Greg Ford (Gauteng), Kyle Glennistor (Gauteng), Tshepo Stafa (Gauteng), Richard Seletswane (Gauteng), Dean Bacher (CSA Invitation XI), Reuben du Toit (Gauteng), Simo Potelwa (Gauteng), Billy van Zyl (Gauteng), Ravat Yusuf (CSA Invitation XI).

Coastal Conquerors: Banele Cele (KwaZulu-Natal), Romashen Pillay (KwaZulu-Natal), Alexander Vermeulen (KZN Inland), Thabiso Ndlela (KZN Inland), Nathan Ngugi (KwaZulu-Natal), Oyama Ntshona (KZN Inland), Bonga Shezi (KwaZulu-Natal), Ntandoyenkosi Zuma (KZN Inland), Jake Carstens (KZN Inland), Chad Laycock (KwaZulu-Natal), Makabongwe Ngcobo (KZN Inland), Nathan Trevethan (KwaZulu-Natal), Slade van Staden (KZN Inland).

Eastern Warriors: Siphamandla Bashe (Eastern Province), Butsha Mfazwe (Border), Ben van der Merwe (Border), Casey Keevy (Eastern Province), Ian Baard (Eastern Province), Akhona Ratyana (Border), Olwakhe Goqoza (Eastern Province), Daniel Ristow (Eastern Province), Cameron Williams (Eastern Province), Russel Peterson (Eastern Province), Cormey van der Watt (Eastern Province), Ethan Frosler (Eastern Province), Bune Hlonela (Border).

Northern Champions: Nathan Steyn (Easterns), Amaan Khan (Easterns), Christiaan Daniels (Titans), Khaif Patel (Limpopo), Letsholo Selemela (Titans), William Tshoke (Titans), Schalk Engelbrecht (Titans), Arnaud du Plessis (Titans), Dewan Marais (Easterns), Modise Maloka (Titans), Christiaan du Toit (Titans), Sinethemba Ngeyane (Easterns), Shelton Ngobeni (Limpopo).

Southern Superstars: Nathan Jacobs (Boland), Abdullah Bayoumy (Western Province), Jesse Prodehl (Western Province), Basil George (South Western Districts), Liyema Waqu (Western Province), Tyler Williams (Western Province), Cameron Fraser (Western Province), Juan James (Western Province), Maahir Joseph (Western Province), Abel Mokwena (Western Province), Gysbert Wege (Boland), Bongile Mfunelwa (Western Province), Meeka-eel Prince (Western Province).

Western Legends: Mvula Chabalala (Free State), Matthew Davids (Free State), Jayden Davids (Free State), Mbongiseni Mhlanga (Free State), Stefan Nel (Free State), Sello Sesing (Free State), Joe Meyer (Free State), JP King (CSA Invitation XI), Hanro Swanepoel (North West), Rico Fryer (North West), Corné Prinsloo (North West), Bathabile Masigo (North West), Tshireletso Tikoe (North West).


Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.