SuperSport Schools Plus

Battle-tested Free State ready for Khaya Majola Cricket Week

By Willem Louw , in Cricket | News , at 2023-11-17

The Free State contingent that will be competing at the 2023 Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket Week boasts a core group of six veterans who took part in the event last year.

Watch all the games live on SuperSport Schools – Register now

Samokelo Lepheto, Sicelo Matayi and Johnathan Muller are the three players from Grey College who were part of the team in 2022.

This year, they are joined by five of their schoolmates, which gives the Free Staters the advantage of familiarity with one another’s games.

The other three returnees are Andre du Preez and Dakalo Leketa from St Andrew’s School, along with HTS Louis Botha‘s sole representative, Khanyisile Nondwangu.

Muller and Leketa both earned a place in the SA Colts team after their performances at the event last year.

Connor Nel and Jordan van den Berg complete Saints’ quadruple selections. On the rugby field, Nel captained the St Andrew’s 1st XV and enjoyed a good season as a counterattacking fullback.

Although there is no Free State player currently in the provisional SA u19 squad for January’s ICC u19 Cricket World Cup in Sri Lanka, there will be a couple of players in the team who the selectors will place under the microscope in Makhanda in December.

The Team

Free State u19: Dale Williams (Grey College), Jordan van den Berg (St Andrew’s School), Samokelo Lepheto (Grey College), Juan Viljoen (Grey College), Connor Nel (St Andrew’s), Andre du Preez (St Andrew’s), Khanyisile Nondwangu (HTS Louis Botha), Sicelo Matayi (Grey College), Johnathan Muller (Grey College), Dakalo Leketa (St Andrew’s), Ruben Maree (Grey College), Darion Rabie (Grey College), Kamohelo Mokoena (Grey College).

8 Grey College | 4 St Andrew’s School | 1 HTS Louis Botha

Free State u16: Adem Niewoudt (Grey College), Naude Botha (St Andrew’s School), Eddie Mabena (Grey College), Cullen Marais (Grey College), FG Botha (St Andrew’s School), Lebohang Mohloni (HTS Sasolburg), Henru de Wet (Grey College), Nikhil Sukraj (Sasolburg High), Cullen Kakora (St Andrew’s School), Otto Krause (Grey College), Onalenna Molale (Kagisho Comprehensive), Lamla Mgedezi (Grey College), Kabelo Mosia (Hoërskool Henneman).

Willem Louw
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.