SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

Who will be crowned champions of the fifth annual North/South tournament?

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | News , at 2023-10-11

The teams at the fifth annual Westvaal North/South tournament will be rearing to go after finding out who they will face in this year’s T20 tournament.

Catch all the action live on SuperSport Schools (

The defending champions, Hoërskool Waterkloof, will feature in Pool B alongside Paarl Boys’ High, Hoërskool Nelspruit and the renowned Grey College from Bloemfontein.

In 2022, the Klofies blasted their way through the group stages before facing Potchefstroom Volkskool in the Final. The Pretoria-based side has yet another strong outfit this year and will look to repeat their winning recipe as they aim to defend their title.

Runners-up from last year, Potchefstroom Volkskool, will have to beat Hoërskool Centurion, Wynberg Boys’ High and newcomers, Selborne College in Pool A if they want to have an opportunity at redemption in this year’s tournament.

The newcomers to the tournament, Afrikaans Hoër Seunskool of Pretoria, will also face a tough ask in Pool D, where they take on some of the best teams from down south in the form of Rondebosch Boys’ High and Westville Boys’ High. They will also have to deal with the in-form powerhouse from Johannesburg, St Stithians College, if they want to progress to the playoffs.

The men from Pretoria have been in good knick in recent weeks and fancy their chances of being in the hunt for the silverware come the business end of the tournament.

Selborne College, the newcomers from the Eastern Cape coast, will definitely be a dark horse as not many of the northern sides will have seen them in action. However, it will be interesting to see how the change from slow-turning wickets to quick and bouncy pitches affects Selborne’s way of playing.

The Pools:

Pool A – Hoërskool Centurion, Wynberg Boys’ High, Hoër Volksool Potchefstroom, Selborne College.
Pool B- Hoërskool Waterkloof, Paarl Boys’ High, Hoërskool Nelspruit, Grey College.
Pool C – Hoërskool Menlopark, SACS, St Andrews (Bloemfontein), Grey High School.
Pool D: Affies, Rondebosch Boys’ High, St Stithians College, Westville Boys’ High.

error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.