SuperSport Schools Plus

Terblanche stars as Blue Bulls walk away as unofficial u13 Craven Week champions

By Hannes Nienaber , in Featured | Main Rugby | Featured Rugby | News , at 2024-06-21 Tags: ,

GEORGE TERBLANCHE, flyhalf of the Blue Bulls, scoring one of his side’s two tries in the main match of the 51st annual u13 Craven Week in Pretoria. PHOTO: Frans Lombard/Actionpix

PRETORIA. – The Blue Bulls were crowned the unofficial champions of the annual u13 Craven Week for the first time since 2012.

The hosts defeated Western Province by 21-17 in the main match played at Hoërskool Menlopark’s main field in the Jacaranda City.

Western Province was the defending unofficial champions after they beat Boland 10-8 in last year’s main match in Pietermaritzburg.

The Blue Bulls’ flyhalf, George Terblanche, played a pivotal role in his side’s victory as he scored one of his side’s two tries, slotted three penalties and converted one of the tries.

Terblanche’s tally of 16 points in the main match took him to 43 in the tournament which made him the leading point scorer.

The home side’s flanker Luan MacDonald was once again prominent with his ball-carrying. He scored six tries during the tournament. On defence, it was the hooker, Paul Bester, and eighthman, Henrico van Zyl, who was their weight worth in gold for the Bulls.

For Western Province, their speedy winger Tyron Strauss was again a handful. He scored also his sixth try of the week in the main match. WP’s lock Christiaan van der Watt was probably his side’s best player on the day.

The top try scorer during the week was the Leopards’ flanker Dihan Booyens. He scored his seventh try in his side’s last match against the Valke to help them to a 21-12 victory.

The Free State managed to finish the week on a high thanks to a last-minute try by winger Zenzo Manana. He and the fullback, Lebohang Lephallo, scored a brace of tries as the Free Staters bagged a scintillating 38-33 victory over South Western Districts.

The team from the Garden Route’s winger Jordan Fortuin and fullback, Jovern Fortuin, both enjoyed a good tournament.


Blue Bulls 21 (6) – Tries: George Terblanche, Rivan Lotriet. Conversion: Terblanche. Penalties: Terblanche (3). Western Province 17 (5) – Tries: Tyron Strauss, Chergeo Fransman, Mikaeel Frieslaar. Conversion: Zachery September.

Golden Lions 28 (22) – Tries: Cullen la Grange, Lorenzo Jardim, Kristen Steyn. Conversions: Ariel Meij, Jardim. Penalties: Jardim (3). Boland 7 (0) – Try: Caleb Phillipus. Conversion: Chanville Zaal.

Free State 38 (14) – Tries: Zenzo Manana (2), Lebohang Lephallo (2), Reuben Smit, Aiden Zwiegelaar. Conversions: Ludwig Knauff (4). South Western Districts 33 (12) – Tries: Whelan Maxim, Aqhamile Magxidolo, Luan Augustyn, Jameal van Staden, Jordan Fortuin. Conversions: Augustyn (4).

Pumas 12 (7) – Tries: Siphokuhle Malele, WC van Schalkwyk. Conversion: Loghan de Beer. Griffons 7 (7) – Try: Vincent Stadhouer. Conversion: Anthonie Pelser.

Griqualand West 23 (15) – Tries: Luan Coetzee (2), Guillermo Neels, Kaylon Eilerd. Penalty: Jayden Gossmann. Border 10 (10) – Try: Joshua van Heerden. Conversion: Jesse van Bronckhorst. Penalty: Van Bronckhorst.

Sharks 17 (5) – Tries: Wald Rossouw, Wandile Sithole, Max de Charmoy. Conversion: Willem Badenhorst. Eastern Province 3 (3) – Penalty: Hanno Winter.

Leopards 21 (14) – Tries: Dihan Booyens, Ethan Fourie, Keagan Gamba. Conversions: Dandré Allers (3). Valke 12 (7) – Tries: Rametsi Sebake, Kamo Motaung. Conversion: Dylan Nel.

Limpopo Blue Bulls 62 (36) – Tries: Mohau Sehlake (3), Trevor Sindana (2), Eli du Plessis, Ramathope Shai, PG Steenekamp, Antoon du Plessis, Mashudu Moraba. Conversions: Antoon du Plesssis (3), Divan Zietsman (3). Zimbabwe 0.

Namibia 52 (33) – Tries: Conroy van Wyk (2), Adrian van der Westhuizen (2), Keithen Humphries, Jean Botha, Tiaan du Plessis, Ruben Kotze. Conversions: Ryan Steyn (4), Jacques Bruwer. Border Country Districts 0.


Western Province B 26 (12) – Tries: Leighton Hendricks, Xolani Gobinca, Enoch Gold, Joshwin Jacobs. Conversions: Daniel Jackson (2), Carter Weber. Boland B 12 (7) – Tries: Martiens Labuschagne, Marlon Pretorius. Conversion: Duren Baron.

Blue Bulls 31 (31) – Tries: Stian Roets (2), Ruwald Cilliers, Keanu Engelbrecht, Christiaan Venter. Conversions: Roets (3). Sharks B 12 (0) – Tries: Blessing Mndaba, Connor Els. Conversion: Luyanda Mgabhi.

South Western Districts B 22 (5) – Tries: Raywin Links (2), Reece Plaatjies. Conversions: Jordan Lourens (2). Penalty: Lourens. Golden Lions B 19 (12) – Tries: Chad Pollak, Japhet Motindola, Koghan Rangolie. Conversions: Jean-Luke Parsons, Divan Coetzee.

Free State B 24 (21) – Tries: Kobamelo Tloubatla (3). Conversions: Cullen Keuris (3). Penalty: Keuris. Valke B 17 (10) – Tries: Ruan Wolmarans (3). Conversion: Ricardo Wills.

Eastern Province B 34 (12) – Tries: Ruan Jacobs (2), Tyler Merrington (2), Jaydon Stoman, Lubabalo Ntshiza. Conversions: Waney Neff (2). Griffons B 7 (0) – Try: Lehlohonolo Mthembu. Conversion: Mbono Myemane.

Border B 12 (12) – Tries: Alwaba Mkabile (2). Conversion: Ubenathi Kapa. Limpopo Blue Bulls B 7 (0) – Try: Rudo Rheeders. Conversion: MJ Snyman.

Leopards B 24 (5) – Tries: Henku Botha (2), Dirk Odendaal, Zavier van Wyk. Conversions: Lappies Labuschagne (2). Pumas B 19 (19) – Tries: Ofentse Aphane, Letsena Ramushu, Drikus Scholtz. Conversions: Scholtz (2).

Hannes Nienaber