SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Cricket Logo

Southern Superstars squad announced for the Cubs Week of 2024

By Franco Oberholzer , in Cricket | Featured Cricket | News , at 2024-01-02 Tags:

PHOTO:  Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

The Southern Superstars have named their squad for the forthcoming Cubs Week, which will take place from 5 to 9 January in the winelands of Stellenbosch.

With seven Western Province players in their line-up, the Superstars will be a force to be reckoned with during the tournament.

Raeeq Daniels, one of the best fast bowlers during the Khaya Majola Week of 2023, will spearhead the attack for the side from the south. Alongside him will be fellow Western Province quicks’ Fayyaad Williams and Mbulelo Dube.

Sibulele Sibunzana also booked himself a spot in the Superstars’ squad and will be aiming to spin a web around his opposition with his impressive left-arm orthodox bowling.

In the batting department, Benjamin Hansen, who was named SA Schools’ captain after an outstanding Khaya Majola Week, will set the tone at the top of the order for the Superstars. Joining him up front is the opening pair from Boland’s Khaya Majola side, Josh Jordaan and Johan Wege.

Enathi Kitshini earned a call-up after impressing the selectors with a couple of well-put-together knocks at the week. At the same time, fellow Badgers’ player and all-rounder, Charl-Francois Marais, also cracked the nod.

Western Province batsmen, Siyabonga Venge and Kashief Joseph, and right-arm orthodox spin bowler, Callum Apollis were also rewarded for their consistent performances, and they complete the Southern Superstars’ squad.

The team:

Josh Jordaan (Boland, Paul Roos Gimnasium), Mbulelo Dube (Western Province, Gugulethu Hub), Sibulele Sibanzana (Western Province, Khayelitsha Hub), Siyabonga Venge (Western Province, Stonefountain High), Fayyaad Davids (Western Province, SACS), Charl Francois Marais (Garden Route Badgers, Outeniqua), Kashief Joseph (Western Province, Bishops), Callum Apollis (Boland, Paul Roos Gimnasium), Enathi Kitshini (Garden Route Badgers, Thembalethu High), Paul James (Western Province, Wynberg Boys’ High), Raeeq Daniels (Western Province, Rondebosch Boys’ High), Benjamin Hansen (Western Province, Wynberg Boys’ High), Johan Wege (Boland, Paarl Boys’ High).



Franco Oberholzer
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.