SuperSport Schools Plus

Schedule for the u19 ICC World Cup in South Africa confirmed

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | Featured Cricket | News , at 2023-12-11 Tags: ,

David Teeger PHOTO: Morgan Piek

Five-time champions India will commence their 2024 ICC u19 Men’s Cricket World Cup campaign against 2020 winners Bangladesh in Bloemfontein, while hosts South Africa take on the West Indies in the tournament opener on January 19.

The ICC released the schedule for the 16-team event on Monday, with five venues across South Africa to host a total of 41 matches over more than three weeks in January and February in the 15th edition of the u19 showcase.

India prevailed in the last edition of the tournament in the West Indies in 2022 and are placed in Group A with Bangladesh, Ireland and the USA as they attempt to claim a record sixth Under 19 title.

Group B consists of England, South Africa, West Indies and Scotland. Group C features Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Namibia, while Group D is made up of Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal.

The top three sides from each group progress to the Super Six phase of the event ahead of the semi-finals and final in Benoni.

It will be the third time that South Africa has hosted the Under 19 World Cup – after previous editions in 1998 and 2020 – and ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley believes the country is well placed to build on the success of holding two recent tournaments over the last year.

“In the past 12 months we have seen South Africa successfully deliver two milestone events for the sport – the inaugural ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup last year, and the groundbreaking ICC Women’s T20 World Cup that immediately followed,” Tetley said.

“The relocation of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 to South Africa allows us the opportunity to build on this momentum and welcome the best young cricketers on the planet to five notable international venues.”

All teams will play two warm-up fixtures in South Africa between January 13-17.

ICC u19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Groups:

Group A: India, Bangladesh, Ireland, USA
Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies, Scotland
Group C: Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Namibia
Group D: Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, Nepal

The Fixtures | Pool Stages

Friday, 19 January 2024 

Ireland vs USA (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
South Africa vs West Indies (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)

Saturday, 20 January 2024 

Bangladesh vs India (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
Scotland vs England (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)
Pakistan vs Afghanistan (Buffalo Park, East London)

Sunday, 21 January 2024 

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)
New Zealand vs Nepal (Buffalo Park, East London)

Monday, 22 January 2024

Bangladesh vs Ireland (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
Australia vs Namibia (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)

Tuesday, 23 January 2024 

South Africa vs England (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)
New Zealand vs Afghanistan (Buffalo Park, East London)

Wednesday, 24 January 2024 

Sri Lanka vs Namibia (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)
West Indies vs Scotland (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)
Nepal vs Pakistan (Buffalo Park, East London)

Thursday, 25 January 2024 

India vs Ireland (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
Zimbabwe vs Australia (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)

Friday, 26 January 2024 

USA vs Bangladesh (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
England vs West Indies (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)
Afghanistan vs Nepal (Buffalo Park, East London)

Saturday, 27 January 2024 

Zimbabwe vs Namibia (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)
South Africa vs Scotland (JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom)
Pakistan vs New Zealand (Buffalo Park, East London)

Sunday, 28 January 2024 

India vs USA (Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein)
Australia vs Sri Lanka (Kimberley Oval, Kimberley)

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.