SuperSport Schools Plus

SA Schools’ cricket teams for 2022 announced

By Hannes Nienaber , in Cricket | News , at 2022-12-18 Tags:

Juan James from Wynberg Boys’ High has been named the SA Schools captain of 2022. PHOTO: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

STELLENBOSCH. – Wynberg Boys’ High’s Juan James has been named the South African Schools’ captain of 2022.

Western Province also came out on top by 146 runs against KwaZulu-Natal in the main match of the Khaya Majola Week at the Coetzenberg Oval here.

James is the first player from Wynberg Boys’ High to be named SA Schools’ captain. The first SA Schools’ side was chosen back in 1940.

Bongile Mfunelwa from Rondebosch Boys’ High and Liyema Waqu of SACS are the other two WP teammates from James who made the SA Schools’ side.

Mfunelwa was also named the Player of the Tournament for his efforts during the week.

Waqu, Nathan Jacobs (Boland), and Richard Seletswane (Gauteng) added a second SA Schools’ Cap to their collection. Meeka-eel Prince who represented the side last year in Potchefstroom did not make the cut this year. Prince was also not named in the SA Colts side.

St Stithians College of Johannesburg produced another two SA Schools’ players with Kwena Maphaka and Seletswane both earning selection. Both have already represented the national u19-side this year during Cricket South Africa’s T20 series.

More to follow…

The teams: 

SA Schools: Juan James (Wynberg Boys’ High, WP – captain), Liam Alder (King Edward VII, Gauteng), Jakes Carstens (Hilton College, KZN Binneland), Nathan Jacobs (New Orleans, Boland), Tristan Luus (Waterkloof, Titans), Kwena Maphaka (St Stithians, Gauteng), Bongile Mfunelwa (Rondebosch Boys’ High, WP), Jason Muirhead (St Charles’ College, KZN Binneland), Romashan Pillay (Westville Boys’ High, KwaZulu-Natal), Ludwich Schuld (Potchefstroom Volkskool, Noordwes), Richard Seletswane (St Stithians College, Gauteng), Liyema Waqu (SACS, WP).

SA Colts: Thebe Gazide (St Stithians College, Gauteng – captain), Leketa Dakalo (St Andrews, Vrystaat), Christiaan du Toit (Waterkloof), Maahir Joseph (Rondebosch Boys’ High, WP), Ontlametse Kesiamang (Noord-Kaap, Noord-Kaap), Christopher King (St John’s College, Gauteng), Gerhard Maree (Grey-kollege, Vrystaat), Johnathan Muller (Grey-kollege, Vrystaat), Riley Norton (Paul Roos, Boland), Bonga Shezi (Durban High School, KwaZulu-Natal), Khayelihle Sithole (St Benedict’s College, Easterns), Bhamji Suleman (Laudium, Titans).

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.