SuperSport Schools Plus

Preview – HTS Sasolburg vs. Hoërskool Sasolburg

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2013-05-31

The town will be divided in two for the FNB Classic Clash between HTS Sasolburg and Hoërskool Sasolburg – the sixth such Classic Clash, the 34th derby between the two schools.

Sasolburg High leads 3-2 in the Classic Clashes, winning 29-15 last year. And they have the makings of a good side again this year, after beating two neighbours, Afrikaanse Hoer Sasol and Vanderbijlpark (45-0).  HTS – the Spanners – have beaten Parys, Welkom High and De Anker, drew with Carel de Wet and lost to Heilbron and Overvaal, the latter 69-0.

This in the Free State warmth, in a town where coal becomes oil and byproducts, this could just be a tough and exciting match with Sasolburg High perhaps the favourites in that they are higher on the log than the Spanners.   The match could well be a case of rapier against broadsword. The Sasolburg High side has only three matrics while the Spanners are more mature. The Spanners are heavier and stronger up front but the High School’s backs are quicker. It may be a match decided by the willingness of spirit and flesh.

The teams:

HTS Sasolburg: 15 Neo Makekeng, 14 Jacques Coetzer, 13 Rudi Cilliers, 12 Roehan Botes, 11 Pieter de Ru, 10 Kenny Pheleu, 9 Juandre Pretorius, 8 Tiaan Engelbrecht, 7 Kingsley Mahlangu, 6 Piet Mokoena, 5 Gerrie Rautenbach, 4 James Gouws, 3 Tobie Vosloo, 2 Heinrich van Tonder, 1 Juhan Lodewyk. Replacements: 16 Sonquezo Mofase, 17 Christiaan Dippenaar, 18 Riaan Nel, 19 Victor Kambula, 20 Tyron du Plooy, 21 Pieter van Rensburg, 22 Mpho Lesoli

Hoërskool Sasolburg: 15 Stefan Cilliers, 14 Jarred Dawson, 13 Ruan Viljoen, 12 Tshiamo Sebolai, 11 Vusi Cele, 10 Frikkie Oosthuizen, 9 Dewald Hanekom, 8 Rudolph van Deventer, 7 Sean-Dean du Plessis, 6 Katleho Baisang, 5 Hannes Neethling, 4 Stefan Bester, 3 Gustav Vogel, 2 Teboho Mkhotho, 1 Jacques Viljoen. Replacements: 16 Francois Coetzee, 17 Johan Kok, 19 Thadeus van Onsselen, 20 Bongi Zwane, 21 Joel Mbisha, 22 Francois Groenewald, 23 Wynand Meyer.

Kick-off: 14:30

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.