SuperSport Schools Plus

Supersport Schools Rugby Logo

Afrika could still make South African under 20-side

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2008-01-31

Thirteen Blue Bulls was named by Eric Sauls (coach) in his national under 20-side for a training camp in Saldanha. The camp will be held from 2 February until 11 February. The South African team will travel to the IRB under 20 World Championship in June in Wales. “The squad isn’t finalized yet and guys out of the group can still make the squad for Wales,” said Sauls. 
A player like Cecil Afrika (fullback/wing) can still make the side. He is struggling with an injury and could make the final cut. Another omission from the squad who could be in action in Wales is Francois Hougaard (scrumhalf) of the Blue Bulls. Hougaard is in the Bulls provisional Super 14 squad. “Cecil is an extremely talented player and I can still alter my squad before the competition,” said Sauls.
The South African team will play two matches against their French counterparts. The French team has set up camp in Vredenburg. The Free State has six representatives in the group. Three of the six players ply their trade in the midfield. Robert Ebersohn and Earl Snyman represented the South African school’s side last year, while Cameron Jacobs captained the Eastern Province team at the Coca Cola Cravenweek held at Stellenbosch. Herzon Amell (prop), Wilton Pietersen (fullback) and PW van Vuuren (hooker) completes the dozen.
The group is:
Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Berend Botha, Cornell Hess, Divan Kotze, Henri Bantjes, Stefan Watermeyer, Wynand Willis, Gerhard van der Merwe, Stephan Dippenaar, Oscar Mfundise, Tom Seabela, Marnitz Boshoff, Corne Fourie (all Blue Bulls), Dewaldt Duvenhage (Boland), Herzon Amell, Robert Ebersohn, Cameron Jacobs, Wilton Pieterson, Pieter-Willem van Vuuren, Earl-Jivan Snyman (all Cheetahs), Bernardo Botha, Justin Wheeler, Johan van Deventer (all Lions), Robert Kruger, BG Uys (both Leopards), Mlindazwe Nqoro, Sabelo Nhlapo, Thiphatu Marole, Wiehahn Herbst, Maphelo Mpondo (all Natal), Jean-Jacques Rossouw, Lisle Clark, Martin Muller, Mathew Turner, Mzwanele Zito, Yaasir Hartzenberg, Clark Weidemann, Clayton Steward (all Western Province).
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.