SuperSport Schools Plus

Harmony Sportacademy in victory over JF

By Hannes Nienaber , in Rugby | News , at 2007-08-19

Harmony Sportacademy tackled themselve to victory over Jim Fouche in their Shimla-league semi-final clash at Jim Fouche today. They won the match 21-3 after leading 14-3 at the break.

Their captain and scrumhalf, Boela Abrahams, dictated play with his eduacated boot. Abrahams whom representes the SA Academy-side last year also led his team from the front. He was voted man of the match. 

The Harmony Sportacadmy’s first try came in the form of their flyhalf Branco du Preez. Abrahams took a quick tap penalty after his opposite number Roelof Botha fed the scrum scew. The ball got to Du Preez who scored under the uprights.

Du Preez made the second try after chipping over JF’s backline and regathering before off-loading to his inside centre Justin Claassen to score. Claassen who represented the SA Academy side earlier this year missed an oppurtunity early in the match to score when he couldn’t control the ball. Claassen and Du Preez played magnificently for the winning team.  

Jim Fouche played much better in te second stanza of the match and the only points of the half came with the siren when Shannon Robertson, ouside centre of Harmony Sportacademy, showed soem pace and scored and Abrahams converted.

Tokkie Holtzhausen, centre of Jim Fouche, scored his team’s only points via a penalty which also gave them the lead for the only time in the match. He also tackled well. Espee Visser (eightman and captain), Armand Wessels (wing), Johan Venter and Werner Pretorius (both props) can all feel pleased with their performances for the home team. 

While Alvin George, Allister Vermaak (both props), Leroy Harmse (hooker) and Chaka Khoza (flank) were the forwards who mixed well for the winning team.  

The teams:

Harmony Sportacademy: 15 Roewayne Maurice, 14 Clinton Wagman, 13 Shannon Robertson, 12 Justin Claassen, 11 Ashley Klaassen, 10 Branco du Preez, 9 Boela Abrahams (captain), 8 Bruce Scheepers, 7 Boetie Groenewald, 6 Chaka Khoza, 5 Mxolisi Moyake, 4 Baba Matshinini, 3 Alvin George, 2 Leroy Harmse, 1 Allister Vermaak.

Jim Fouche: 15 Morne Stanford, 14 Ignus Rocher, 13 Werner Swartz, 12 Tokkie Holtzhausen, 11 Armand Wessels, 10 Hennie van Straaten, 9 Roelof Botha, 8 Espee Visser (captain), 7 Hanno Pieterse, 6 Sylvester Maqhina, 5 Martin van den Heever, 4 Petri Coetzee, 3 Werner Pretorius, 2 Cornel van der Walt, 1 Johan Venter.

Referee: Oubaas Wagner
Touch Judges: De Goede Haasbroek and Piet Pretorius


Harmony Sportacademy 21 – Tries: Branco du Preez, Justin Claassen, Shannon Robertson. Conversions: Boela Abrahams 3. Jim Fouche 3 – Penalty: Tokkie Holtzhausen.

By Hannes Nienaber

Hannes Nienaber
error: Sorry ol' chap, those shenanigans are not permissible.